Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Heh He He!

Hillary Clinton Goes To School

Hillary Clinton goes to a primary school in New York to talk about the world.

After her talk she offers question time. One little boy puts up his hand, and the Senator asks him what his name is.

"Kenneth."

"And what is your question, Kenneth?"

"I have three questions: First - whatever happened to your medical health care plan? Second - why would you run for President after your husband shamed the office? And third - whatever happened to all those things you took when you left the White House?"

Just then the bell rings for recess. Hillary Clinton informs the kiddies that they will continue after recess. When they resume Hillary says, "Okay where were we? Oh, that's right, question time. Who has a question?"

A different little boy puts his hand up; Hillary points him out and asks him what his name is.

"Larry."

"And what is your question?"

"I have five questions: First - whatever happened to your medical health care plan? Second - why would you run for President after your husband shamed the office? Third - whatever happened to all those things you took when you left the White House? Fourth - why did the recess bell go off 20 minutes early? And fifth - what happened to Kenneth?"

Thanks to Prairieson for this chuckle!

Blowing the Leftista's Cover...

Man Accused Of Slashing 42 Tires To "Protest" War
Seattle Post-Intelligencer

A drunken college student slashed 42 tires on 13 government vehicles in an Army recruiting office parking lot, saying he was angry about the war in Iraq, authorities said.

Following a number of calls about a man wearing black and slashing tires, two deputies stopped a 19-year-old college student from Colorado as he tried to run from the lot shortly after midnight Sunday, a Kitsap County sheriff's office report said. He was jailed for investigation of first-degree malicious mischief, a dangerous weapon violation for the knife and being a minor in possession of alcohol.


This one is for Les Ismore, who just caint believe we have Leftists up here who do such thangs!

Get A Rush!!!

News Makes Miz P's Face Crack

RUSH: There's a joint press conference going on right now between President Bush and the new British Prime Minister Gordon Brown. This guy, all this talk about we're going to get out of Iraq, something's happened, because he's singing a whole different tune.

One of the things he said, "We should acknowledge the debt the world owes to the United States for it is leadership in this fight against international terrorism." When I heard him say that, I could just hear Nancy Pelosi's face crack, and I could just hear Dick Durbin and Russ Feingold, who was on TV yesterday -- by the way, Russ Feingold was taken to the cleaners by Chris Wallace yesterday on this US attorneys business and all of these investigations that the Congress has mounted of the president.

He had to admit they have nothing! They have nothing. They think there might be something, they think they might find something, but they have nothing.

Also, yesterday in the New York Times, there was a front-page story below the fold, and the headline: "In the ’60s, a Future Candidate Poured Her Heart Out in Letters." Did you read this, Mr. Snerdley? Well, I'm getting to that in just a second. We're going to cover that in great detail, the New York Times column today.

Two Brookings Institution guys -- these are leftists, by the way -- saying, "Hey, we are winning in Iraq." Feingold also said, (paraphrasing) "I don't care. I don't see any evidence. I'm just not going to accept the president's word." This is going to be a big problem for the left because these two guys just got back from Iraq, they say the surge is working, it's showing great promise. It would be unconscionable, they say, to pull out of there prior to 2008. You can hear Pelosi's face crack again when she got up and read this this morning. You could probably see it crack when she read this.

The left-wing blogosphere is no doubt going nuts. Maybe it's too much to hope for, but can you imagine how the attitude and the mood in this country would change if the reporting about the surge working could actually serve to help unite the people of this country behind this effort? Do you realize the difference that would make in public attitudes and moods? I know it's a long shot, because the left is already invested in defeat, as are the Democrats in Congress. But it will be interesting to see.

Please visit Rush Limbaugh at:

Me...Me....ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Little Johnny Injects Himself Into the Fray

The artificial dust-up between John Edwards, Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama over the actual dust-up between Hillary and Barack is both amusing and annoying. Probably due to their laziness, the mainstream media conspired to allow Edwards to inject himself into the story, which -- originally -- had nothing to do with him.


The story began when Clinton called Obama "irresponsible" and "naive" for saying that, as president, he would be willing to meet with leaders of Iran, Cuba, North Korea, Venezuela and Syria without preconditions.

Clinton said she wouldn't risk allowing these dictators to use her as a propaganda dupe. (One wonders where Hillary was when House Majority Leader Nancy Pelosi served as propaganda dupe for Syrian President Bashar Assad -- not to mention grossly undermined the commander in chief.)

more...

Prayers For Our Chief Justice

Chief Justice Roberts To Spend Night At Hospital
MCN

Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr., a seasonal resident of Hupper Island, located off Port Clyde, will be staying overnight at Penobscot Bay Medical Center in Rockport following a seizure.

St. George Ambulance responded to a call at about 2 p.m. Monday of a man who had fallen 5 to 10 feet and landed on a dock, hitting the back of his head. The patient was ashen and was foaming at the mouth. National news report quotes a Supreme Court spokeswoman as saying that Roberts was conscious the entire time of the incident. That spokeswoman has not returned a telephone call to the newspaper.

PBMC issued a statement at about 7 p.m., saying that Roberts was being kept overnight as a precaution and was recovered. He suffered some minor scrapes from the fall, the hospital stated. A comprehensive neurological examination was administered to the chief justice and the seizure was determined to be a benign one, the hospital stated. The chief justice suffered a similar seizure in 1993.

Comic Corner...

Muslims Protest: "It's Raining Pigs!"
Daily Mail

A group of Muslims have opposed plans for a pet food factory to be built as possible pork emissions will violate their religious rights.

Butchers Pet Care could shelve plans for a factory in Coton Park, near Rugby, because angry Asian families have complained to their residents' association about pork smells drifting into their garden.

Muslim residents in the area also claim the pork will effectively "rain down" on their homes and gardens after the factory's 100ft chimney has pumped the meat extracts into the atmosphere.

more...


This is truly comic relief! Just think, Israel didn't need to build a wall... it only needed to open a couple of dog-food factories!

Monday, July 30, 2007

Democrats Determined To Make Us Lose

Murtha/Pelosi Blueprint For Defeat
The Washington Times

With Congress's August recess less than one week away, it should hardly come as a surprise that Rep. John Murtha, the chairman of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Defense, is readying more legislative mischief. Mr. Murtha, a close political ally of Democratic House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, has made it clear that plans to use the $459.6 billion defense appropriations bill, which comes to the floor this week, to short-circuit the current military campaign against jihadists in Iraq and shut down the prison at Guantanamo Bay (Gitmo).


Mr. Murtha plans to offer three amendments to the fiscal 2008 defense appropriations bill: One would set a 60-day timeline to begin withdrawing troops from Iraq (which will certainly help al Qaeda and the like in planning the Rwanda-ization of the country).

A second Murtha amendment would implement the Pennsylvania Democrat's "slow-bleed" strategy for ensuring a U.S. military defeat by conditioning funds for the war upon the military meeting some unattainable standards for training and equipping the troops. Should the administrate violate the strictures in an effort to reinforce besieged American soldiers or prevent genocide, we have no doubt that if the Democrats are still in the majority that they will be holding oversight hearings and issuing subpoenas to U.S. military commanders and senior Pentagon officials, summoning them to testify about "why they broke the law" by sending these soldiers to the battlefield.

Mr. Murtha's third amendment would close the Guantanamo Bay facility.

more...

http://www.washingtontimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20070730/EDITORIAL/107300002

The Dems: Partisan Opportunists

Whose Ox Is Gored
By John Fund

After Bush's victory, liberals shouted "Voter fraud!" Why have they changed their tune?

Just before the 2004 election, the influential blog DailyKos.com warned of a "nationwide" wave of voter fraud against John Kerry. After the election, liberal blogger Josh Marshall urged Mr. Kerry not to concede because the election had been "too marred with voter suppression, dirty tricks and other unspeakable antics not to press every last possibility" of changing the outcome.

When Congress met in January 2005 to certify the election results, Sen. Barbara Boxer (D., Calif.) and Rep. Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D., Ohio) challenged Mr. Bush's victory and forced Congress to debate the issue. Months later, Democratic National Committee chairman Howard Dean maintained that blacks had been the victims of "massive voter suppression" in Ohio.

But now liberals are accusing the Bush Justice Department of cooking up spurious claims of voter fraud in the 2006 elections and creating what the New York Times calls a "fantasy" that voter fraud is a problem.

more...

What the Dems Think Of America:

FROM DU: Fred Barnes Of Fox News Just Reminded the Left That Something Bad Happened On September 11th:

We just keep forgetting. (Swede)

DUers Chime In:


--So... what was it? Did he give any details?

--Facts, details? nah------just the rhetoric from him and his ink.

--I've forgotten.

--My mother-in-law was born... (1943)

--Fox News signed on?

--God, that sounds familiar, September 11... September 11... Did Ricky forget Lucy's anniversary again?

--Knowing Fred Barnes, it was probably that W raised less than a million bucks that day.

-- 9-11.....now what could it be? hmmmm...

--But if the left didn't hear him, did he say anything?

--They did? You mean, that was the last time Fox News slipped up and actually reported ethically-constructed news?

--Of what year? Why are they so vague? The date does ring a bell but as to why I have no idea.

--Yeah, I keep forgetting what happened on September 11th all the time. What's worse, I keep forgetting the lessons of it.

--Hank The Angry Drunken Dwarf of Howard Stern fame died on Sept 4, 2001. So if something noteworthy happened on Sept 11 Mr Barnes, I was probably too broken up to notice.

-- Something bad? It was the greatest day of Bush's political life.

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x1467943

I don't understand how they can quite bring themselves to do this, but I guess I shouldn't be surprised. If Les Ismore can laugh at the 'Support Our Troops' ribbons, then I wouldn't put anything past them...

'The 'Prom Politics' Of Leftist' Passions

FROM DU: The Real Reason I Support Hillary? Bill...

Yup I admit it - forget the whole its time for a female president, forget any of her policies... I don't care.


I know, I know - Bill will be put on the back burner, so there is no question who is president, I don't care.

I know he is not perfect, still don't care.

So why Bill?

1.He already has established relations (not that kind... I don't think) with foreign leaders, and since we sooooo need to repair the damage done.

2.The right has already tried everything to discredit him and Hillary - everything from impeachment, to whitewater, to accusing them of murder--you name it--they have done it. And the Clintons come out stronger and the right slimier.

3. And its a huge FUCK YOU to the right - the Clintons, for reasons I don't understand, are like the boogey men for the right wing. They so hate the Clintons, I want them back in the White House.

If people can vote for a president they most want to have a beer with, my reasons are as good as any. I am tired of hiding behind nobler reasons for wanting Hillary. Forget more cow bell, I need more Bill. For those getting ready to slam me, save it. At least I am honest for my reasons. (nadine_mn)

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x1467905

I wouldn't dream of slamming her; her own words indict her thoroughly. (Indeed, this gal sound like she wishes she was an intern in the Have-Thong-Will-Travel Club.) "Hiding behind nobler reasons"? They couldn't if they tried! LOL!

Yes, per the Bush Derangement Syndrome precis, nadine_mn outlines the raison d'etra of the tantrum-age Left. Believe me, between dreaming of Utopia and their juvenile desire for revenge, their political thoughts--even their world views--go no deeper than this. Life seems a continual catty school dance to these folks.

'Bumpersticker politics' is a child all their own. Let's remember this in '08.

The Left Needs To Rethink Their "Big Oil" Gotcha

The Choice Is Ours: Big Oil Or Chavez?
By Scott Tinker

In the coming century, the world will transition from cars that run on liquid fuels to cars that run on something else, perhaps electricity or hydrogen. Until then, we have a choice. Either support the "Big Oil" companies that are SEC and IRS regulated, traded on the major stock exchanges, contribute to our economy and national security, and whose employees are our neighbors, or butt into energy myths and stand by idly (gleefully?) while Hugo Chavez ejects "Big Oil" from Venezuela.

The American public is severely misinformed about energy. A few energy myths:

--American energy independence is possible.
--"Big Oil" companies control gasoline prices.
--"Big Oil" companies make obscene profits.
--We are running out of fossil energy (oil, natural gas and coal).
--There are renewable (clean) alternatives to oil, natural gas and coal available today.
--People will pay more for clean energy.
--The oil industry is a major polluter today.
--Energy efficiency and conservation can solve the problem.

Here are a few energy realities.

more...

http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/editorial/outlook/5008254.html

Ask Yourself Why They'd Lie

A Bogus Story
John B. Dwyer


Yesterday's UK Telegraph carried a
story by Damien McElroy headlined "Iraqi Leader Tells Bush: Get Petraeus Out," in which he alleged that Iraqi Prime Minister Maliki and commander of US forces in Iraq, Gen. David Petraeus had stand-up shouting matches about strategy. McElroy claims that at one meeting, PM Maliki told Gen. Petaeus:

"I can't deal with you anymore. I will ask for someone else to replace you."

Pretty damning stuff - except that it is bogus. Here is what Col. Steven Boylan, chief public affairs officer for Multi-National Force-Iraq told this writer on the record in an e-mail:

"Gen Petraeus and the Prime Minister have never had a stand-up shouting match. This is a totally fabricated story.

Gen Petraeus has never stated or even hinted at a "stormy relationship." Saying that they do not pull punches is very different from stormy. That means they have very frank, open, and perhaps direct conversations and continue to do so. Based on what is at stake here; that is what is needed and it should be expected that both are able to have very open and frank dialogue.

Gen Petraeus and other key staff have sat in on every video teleconference with PM Maliki and President Bush. Those statements have never been even hinted at. In addition, PM Maliki has never said what is quoted in the Telegraph to Gen Petraeus."

more...

http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2007/07/a_bogus_strory.html

Sunday, July 29, 2007

Good Job!

Iraq Upset All Odds To Win First Asian Cup

Iraq beat Saudi Arabia 1-0 on Sunday to win their first Asian Cup and provide a fairytale ending to the continental football championship.

The Saudis had been bidding to become the first four-times winners of the event but Iraq, riding a wave of global sentiment, upset the hot-favourites for a rare slice of sporting glory.

http://uk.reuters.com/article/sportsNews/idUKSP26426720070729?feedType=RSS&rpc=451

Considering how the team fared during Saddam's reign, I'm very, very happy for them and am hoping this gives the entire country a real boost!

D'RATS, "Making A Difference"

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
FROM DU: WARNING TO Lurkers Without A DU Account Who Work For Exxon/Mobil Or Own An Exxon/Mobil Gas Station:

Many people see that you give a lot of money to the Republican party. A lot of people have now had to suffer for over a year paying prices per gallon from $2.50 to $3.25.

If you lurk here and do not have a DU account, tell your gas station owner, tell your upper management that a purchasing strike exists conducted by those who agree with me that unless Exxon/Mobil gas stations prices their gasoline down to $1.75 a gallon we will not go to your gas station for anything. We will not buy Exxon/Mobil gasoline but more importantly we will not get our cars repaired at your Exxon/Mobil station and we will not buy any food or other items at your convenience stores.

We can easily go to another gas station. When the economic pressure mounts on the station owners, then perhaps the parent company will get pressure from their gas station owners to do as we ask.

OK Lurkers who don't have DU accounts, go tell your fellow Exxon/Mobil management and gas station owners we mean business for someone else until you lower your prices to $1.75 a gallon. No more gas gouging. (liberaldemocrat7)

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=132x3411387

Yep, it makes perfect sense to me; bring down the little gas station handlers who support the capitalist business to which we are all beholding. It's better to give your money to nice guys like Hugo Chavez and CITGO.
Just make sure we can't drill in ANWAR, or the Gulf...

Tell these babies to go buy gas (and their Fritos chips) in Europe, if they don't like the prices here.

DU's Questions For the GOP YouTube Debate...


EditingMySpace.com,Your one stop graphic spot

FROM DU: Questions For the Republican YouTube Debate (Send them in!)

I'm going to send in some questions, once YouTube has a link up for it:


1). To Mitt Romney: If you're too scared to answer a question from a guy in a snowman suit, how can you deal with the evil terrorists?

2). To John McCain: As a former vet, does it disgust you that troops still don't have body armor, even though the Vice President promised it years ago?"

3). To Rudy Giuliani: I know you're not here, but if you're watching, exactly what did you do on 9/11 that saved one America life?"

4). To all candidates: Don't you think the USA deserves a President that doesn't spout right wing cliches like "Liberal media", "support the troops"," 9/11 9/11 9/11"?

5). To all candidates: As Christians, what is a bigger sin, Adam and Steve holding hands, or lying about a war that has led to 500 000 deaths? (brettdale)

DUers Chime In:

--To Mitt Romney: As a big supporter of the Iraq War, what are you doing to encourage your 5 sons to join the team instead of just cheerleading from the sidelines (and the comfort of their armchairs)?

--To Rudy Giuliani: Where have you been the past 6 years? You were the mayor on 9/11 and then what? Just curious.

--To all candidates: So let me get this straight. You're all okay with torturing prisoners to get info that might prevent another terrorist attack but you have a problem with a gay person translating a message that might prevent another terrorist attack. Please explain!

--To all candidates: Since you are opposed to stem cell research on "moral grounds", if stem cell research leads to a cure for Parkinson's Disease would you forgo use of the medication if you were so afflicted with the disease?

--To all candidates: As President how will you go about fixing America's reputation with your allies, that the Bush Administration has totally destroyed?

--To all candidates: As you know Don Imus was fired for using a racial slur against African Americans. Have you ever publicly or privately said the "N" word as an adult? And if your answer is never, do you really expect anyone to believe you?

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x1463249

This puts paid to the idea that the GOP presidential candidates should participate in any YouTube debates. A more vapid and intellectually empty exercise I never seen!

Is this the best the Left has to offer? No wonder Bammie appeals to them (they probably think he's speaking Einsteinese!) I guess we should be grateful that someone didn't ask Rudy if he's 'white' enough... LOL!

Saturday, July 28, 2007

Democraters Have TRULY Lost Their Minds

Myspace Layouts

FROM DU: The Tillman Affair Is Extraordinarily Dangerous For Bush

He CANNOT "executive privilege" himself out of a murder rap- and from all indications this is how it could end up. He can try, but I've got a dollar here that says he won't succeed- some things are simply too important to allow such a blatant cover-up to go forward for too long. The truth will out. In this case it must, and I have a feeling it will.

We may yet get our wish, boys and girls. George "The Decider" *bush behind bars for life- or perhaps even on death row, convicted of conspiracy to commit murder AND accessory to murder.

I REALLY like the sound of that. Defend him (AND his merry band of co-conspirators) against THAT, Gonzo. If you think you can... (Prisoner_Number_Six)

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x1462130

FROM DAILY KOS: Did Bush Order Pat Tillman Whacked?
WND

Pelosi's favorite website now sees tragic death as political murder.

The highly trafficked "progressive" website DailyKos, which boasts contributors including House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, is suggesting football star Pat Tillman was murdered in Afghanistan on orders from the White House.

The theory behind the conspiracy? "It was well-known he (Tillman) was against the war in Iraq," explains the DailyKos diarist Dburn.

The blog references an appearance by General Wesley Clark on MSNBC's "Keith Olbermann's Countdown" discussing the latest developments in the story of the athlete killed in Afghanistan, presumably by friendly fire from within his Army Ranger unit.

"Wesley Clark was on and believes the orders came from the very top as Tillman was a political symbol," explains the blog. "No indication if orders were to murder him, but at least to cover it up. I'm not speculating at this point. But I saw in another diary where they claimed executive privilege in the Tillman case. It's starting to look beyond bad."

Clark, however, never even remotely suggested the possibility of any high-level conspiracy to kill Tillman.

more...

You really want these nutbars running America? They couldn't run a wheelbarrow down a hill!

MUST READ: The Worst Attacks Are Coming

The Worst Attacks Are Coming

I don't mean by Al Qaeda but by all the people running for president. In a few months, the Congressional races heat up and that will add to the din. Without a doubt, 2008 could be a watershed election and both parties know it. The battle will get a lot more intense before it is over.

You can expect more attacks against this or that candidate as we get into the Fall season. The primary season begins early next year with a lot of states moving their primaries to much earlier dates than ever before and this creates pressure on all of the candidates. It comes down to time but, more importantly, money.

It takes an enormous sum to run a national-level campaign. That goes without saying but to stay in such a charged race requires the candidate to raise large sums of money if he or she is unable to self-finance (as Romney or Bloomberg can do). Money tends to flow toward those campaigns perceived to be most successful as the race tightens. The fringe candidates can hang in for whatever reason if they have a few deep-pocket contributors or a lot of motivated individual donors but it becomes increasingly more difficult as the campaign season matures.

To remain viable in donors' minds requires getting exposure in the media and damaging the campaigns of those that threaten most.

Thus, this is the season of attack pieces often masquerading as analysis or exposes or, in the case of NY Slimes, as news. It is why one should do some digging around stories that seem to play "gotcha" with a particular candidate. The worst of those sort of attacks are still to come and the animosity between campaigns, even in the same party, will only increase.

For Hillary Clinton and Barrack Obama, the goal is to undermine the other's campaign while enhancing one's own, in hopes they will attract a larger share of the primary voters as well as a larger share of the potential donations to keep their campaigns going until the convention. Both campaigns appear to have an army of people working on just such things and they are possibly holding back the "best" as they get closer to the primaries. For Edwards, at this point, the goal is to maintain himself as the champion of the poor and a "reasonable" alternative to the war between Hillary and Obama.

Because the new primary schedule is so front-loaded now -- I believe the first wave of primaries is in February or March -- the Democratic candidates face a crunch time soon. After that first wave of primaries, those candidates significantly behind in delegate votes will come under pressure to drop out of the race. Sometimes, deals are struck behind the scenes to get a candidate to leave the race. It frees up potential donations for the leaders of the pack and simplifies campaigning to a significant degree.

But the inter-party sniping will continue, as well, because the Democratic candidates would rather have to run against Ron Paul in the general election than Rudy Giuliani. Or Romney. Or Thompson. So while they're attempting to assassinate each other over the airwaves and in print, they are also sniping at candidates in the opposition party. The Republicans will do the same.

So, anytime you read a piece in the future about this or that candidate, especially if it is a "gotcha" piece, realize it may have little or no substance behind it.

Actually,these attacks have plenty of substance behind them (just not the ones you may think). In particular, I have seen the call go out amongst the Democrats to, in true Watergate-like-fashion, 'try and get the Republicans to turn on their own'.

The Democrat party Merry Men consider this an extremely viable win strategy. It, they figure, will allow them to circumvent any lack of votes they may have among their own. They are looking for--or hoping to create--enough RINOS (or those who jump parties entirely) to win in Congress, win the presidency, and win in the courts--thus controlling all branches of our government.

We conservatives need to carefully circle our wagons. Let's make a pledge to keep intra-party squabbles out of the public eye, let's not easily criticize our own (at least openly), give up the Kumbaya-idea of being 'fair' and 'nonpartisan', and not be so quick to believe stories that negatively impact upon the GOP.

We may not know when they have been planted, by whom, or why, but the damage they do--and their clear intent--ought to answer most of those questions. Let's not help out the Dems anymore than we have to.

Friday, July 27, 2007

Here's One For Les Ismore:

Blissfully Uneducated

Is “ho”—the rapper slang for the slur “whore”—a bad word? Always, sometimes, or just when an obnoxious white male like Don Imus says it? But not when the equally obnoxious Snoop Dogg serially employs it?

Is the Iraq war, as we are often told, the “greatest mistake” in our nation’s history?
Because Israel and the United States have a bomb, is it then O.K. for theocratic Iran to have one too?

Americans increasingly cannot seem to answer questions like these adequately because they are blissfully uneducated. They have not acquired a broad knowledge of language, literature, philosophy, and history.

Instead, our youth for a generation have been fed a “Studies” curriculum. Fill in the blanks: Women’s Studies, Gay Studies, Environmental Studies, Peace Studies, Chicano Studies, Film Studies, and so on. These courses aim to indoctrinate students about perceived pathologies in contemporary American culture—specifically, race, class, gender, and environmental oppression.

Such courses are by design deductive. The student is expected to arrive at the instructor’s own preconceived conclusions. The courses are also captives of the present—hostages of the contemporary media and popular culture from which they draw their information and earn their relevance.

The theme of all such therapeutic curricula is relativism. There are no eternal truths, only passing assertions that gain credence through power and authority. Once students understand how gender, race, and class distinctions are used to oppress others, they are then free to ignore absolute “truth,” since it is only a reflection of one’s own privilege.

more...

Holds No Watergate

Holds No Watergate
IBD

Congress: Legally unenforceable subpoenas, "scandals" involving no lawbreaking and baseless "perjury" charges. In wartime, and with lots of real work to do, these are the Democratic Congress' skewed priorities.

After issuing subpoenas Thursday to presidential adviser Karl Rove and a White House aide working for him, Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy of Vermont took to the Senate floor to announce, "There is a cloud over this White House and a gathering storm."


Unlike most weather forecasters who get it wrong, Leahy can't claim to have good intentions. He and other top Democrats in both chambers have spent their nearly seven months in the majority trying to generate a fake storm that can destroy the Bush presidency.


The U.S. attorneys affair that Leahy is demanding Rove testify about — in defiance of the confidentiality vis-a-vis his staff that the Supreme Court has affirmed to be a president's right — is the most monumental non-scandal in Washington history. Under the law, a president can fire a Justice Department prosecutor because he doesn't like his tie.

Over on the other side of the Capitol, the House Judiciary Committee — chaired by one of Congress' most liberal members, Rep. John Conyers of Michigan, who has long wanted the president impeached — voted along party lines to cite former White House counsel Harriet Myers and current chief of staff Josh Bolten with criminal contempt for refusing to testify about the attorney firings.

One of the purposes of the Democrats' frivolous probes into non-lawbreaking is to bait someone into making a statement under oath that can be twisted into perjury. It's the way special prosecutor Patrick Fitzgerald's investigation into the noncriminal Valerie Plame affair snared Scooter Libby for having a lousy memory.

So now four Senate Judiciary Committee Democrats, led by New York's Charles Schumer, the Senate Democrats' chief fundraiser, demand an inquisitor for Attorney General Alberto Gonzales.

more...

http://www.ibdeditorials.com/IBDArticles.aspx?id=270429045385855

Thanks, Patsy for bringing us this one!

DemWorld Increasingly Tries To Narrow Ours:

Liberals Go After Fox News Advertisers
NewMax

Liberal activists are stepping up their campaign against Fox News Channel by pressuring advertisers not to patronize the network.


MoveOn.org, the Campaign for America's Future and liberal blogs like DailyKos.com are asking thousands of supporters to monitor who is advertising on the network. Once a database is gathered, an organized phone-calling campaign will begin, said Jim Gilliam, vice president of media strategy for Brave New Films, a company that has made anti-Fox videos.

The groups have successfully pressured Democratic presidential candidates not to appear at any debate sponsored by Fox, and are also trying to get Home Depot Inc. to stop advertising there.

At least 5,000 people nationwide have signed up to compile logs on who is running commercials on Fox, Gilliam said. The groups want to first concentrate on businesses running local ads, as opposed to national commercials.

"It's a lot more effective for Sam's Diner to get calls from 10 people in his town than going to the consumer complaint department of some pharmaceutical company," Gilliam said.

Some of videos produced by Gilliam's company compile statements made by Fox anchors and guests that the activists consider misleading, such as those that question global warming.
Representatives for FoxNews Channel, which is owned by News Corp., did not immediately return calls for comment.

Home Depot has not had an unusual number of calls, said spokesman Jerry Shields, and the home improvement chain will not change its advertising strategy.

"We're not in the business of censoring media," Shields said. "We need to reach our customer base through all mediums available."

Groups like the Sierra Club have targeted Home Depot because they believe it's inconsistent for the company to promote environmentally friendly products while advertising on a network that has questioned global warming.

The groups seem particularly angry at Fox's Bill O'Reilly, who has done critical reports on left-wing bloggers. On July 16, O'Reilly said the DailyKos.com Web site is "hate of the worst order," and sent a reporter to question JetBlue Airways Corp. CEO Dave Barger about the airline's sponsorship of a gathering run by DailyKos.

He'll never ride on JetBlue again, O'Reilly said.

MoveOn.org is campaigning against Fox because it says the network characterizes itself as a fair news network when it consistently favors a conservative point of view, said Adam Green, the organization's spokesman.

"We're not trying to silence anybody," Green said. "Rush Limbaugh has a right to be on the air - he admits his point of view. Fox doesn't."

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/7/27/222119.shtml?s=ic

Dems Move To Gum Up Our Government Further

Schumer Moves To Stop Bush High Court Picks
By Carrie Budoff

New York Sen. Charles E. Schumer, a powerful member of the Democratic leadership, said Friday the Senate should not confirm another U.S. Supreme Court nominee under President Bush “except in extraordinary circumstances.”


“We should reverse the presumption of confirmation,” Schumer told the American Constitution Society convention in Washington. “The Supreme Court is dangerously out of balance. We cannot afford to see Justice Stevens replaced by another Roberts, or Justice Ginsburg by another Alito.”

Schumer’s assertion comes as Democrats and liberal advocacy groups are increasingly complaining that the Supreme Court with Bush’s nominees – Chief Justice John Roberts and Associate Justice Samuel A. Alito – has moved quicker than expected to overturn legal precedents.


more...

http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0707/5146.html

Not EVEN MORE Demmie Wrongdoing and Voter Fraud???!!!

Worst Case Of Voter-Registration Fraud In Washington State History
KOMO-TV Seattle

Guess which left-wing group is at the center of the worst case of voter-registration fraud in Washington state history? Yep, you guessed it: ACORN. The same ACORN tied to massive voter fraud in Missouri. And Ohio. And 12 other states.

Here’s the Washington state scoop via Seattle’s KOMO TV: “King County prosecutors filed felony charges Thursday against seven people in what a top official described as the worst case of voter-registration fraud in state history, while the organization they worked for agreed to keep a better eye on its employees and pay $25,000 to defray costs of the investigation.

The seven submitted about 1,800 registration cards last fall on behalf of the liberal Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now, or ACORN, which had hired them at $8 an hour to sign people up to vote, according to charging documents filed in Superior Court.”

Prosecutors didn’t sugercoat the fraud: “This was an act of vandalism upon the voter rolls of King County,” said Dan Satterberg, the interim King County prosecutor. But officials tried to give ACORN some benefit of the doubt, noting that the defendants were motivated by financial gain rather than intentions of sabotaging the election.

more...

http://michellemalkin.com/2007/07/26/acorn-falls-again-the-worst-case-of-voter-registration-fraud-in-washington-state-history/

B. Hussein Not Up At Bat

Strike Two for Obama

For Barack Obama, it was strike two. And this one was a right-down-the-middle question from a YouTuber in Monday night's South Carolina debate: "Would you be willing to meet separately, without precondition, during the first year of your administration, in Washington or anywhere else, with the leaders of Iran, Syria, Venezuela, Cuba and North Korea?"
"I would," responded Obama.


His explanation dug him even deeper: "The notion that somehow not talking to countries is punishment to them -- which has been the guiding diplomatic principle of this administration -- is ridiculous."

From The Nation's David Corn to super-blogger Mickey Kaus, a near audible gasp. For Hillary Clinton, next in line at the debate, an unmissable opportunity. She pounced: "I will not promise to meet with the leaders of these countries during my first year." And she then proceeded to give the reasons any graduate student could tick off: You don't want to be used for their propaganda. You need to know their intentions. Such meetings can make the situation worse.

Just to make sure no one missed how the grizzled veteran showed up the clueless rookie, the next day Clinton told the Quad-City Times of Davenport, Iowa, that Obama's comment "was irresponsible and frankly naive."

To be on the same stage as the leader of the world's greatest power is of course a prize. That is why the Chinese deemed it a slap in the face that President Bush last year denied President Hu Jintao the full state-visit treatment. The presence of an American president is a valued good to be rationed -- and granted only in return for important considerations.

more...

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/articles/2007/07/strike_two_for_obama.html

Not MORE Demmie Wrongdoing???!!!

More Vote Fraud in Palm Beach
NewsMax

Palm Beach County, Fla. -- home of the infamous "hanging chad” of the disputed 2000 presidential election -- is again the scene of voting controversy.

The Republican Party of Palm Beach County has uncovered at least 60 cases of voters it believe voted twice –- once in New York and once in Florida -- in the Nov. 7, 2006, general election.

In that investigation, the Daily News broke down those with double registrations as 68 percent Democrats, 12 percent Republicans and 16 percent without a listed party affiliation.

more...


Up to 85% of these frauds are Democrat party frauds--and it could be even more than that, depending on how you have to declare yourself in FL before you vote. These sonuvabitches have their nerve saying the presidential elections were stolen for Bush...!

'Making the Perfect the Enemy Of the Good'...

MySpace Layouts images

'It Didn't Happen'
By James Taranto--WSJ.com


Barack Obama's latest pronouncement on Iraq should have shocked the conscience. In an interview with the Associated Press last week, the freshman Illinois senator and Democratic presidential candidate opined that even preventing genocide is not a sufficient reason to keep American troops in Iraq.

"Well, look, if that's the criteria by which we are making decisions on the deployment of U.S. forces, then by that argument you would have 300,000 troops in the Congo right now--where millions have been slaughtered as a consequence of ethnic strife--which we haven't done," Mr. Obama told the AP. "We would be deploying unilaterally and occupying the Sudan, which we haven't done. Those of us who care about Darfur don't think it would be a good idea."

Mr. Obama is engaging in sophistry. By his logic, if America lacks the capacity to intervene everywhere there is ethnic killing, it has no obligation to intervene anywhere--and perhaps an obligation to intervene nowhere. His reasoning elevates consistency into the cardinal virtue, making the perfect the enemy of the good.

more...

http://www.opinionjournal.com/extra/?id=110010382

Thursday, July 26, 2007

You Hear About the 'Baghdad Diarist'?

Pvt. Beauchamp: In Big Trouble Either Way
By Jack Kelly


If what Private Scott Thomas Beauchamp wrote in the New Republic isn't true, he's in trouble, and so is the magazine.

If what Pvt. Beauchamp wrote is true, he's in bigger trouble.

Pvt. Beauchamp is the Baghdad Diarist whose July 13 article, written under the clever pseudonym "Scott Thomas," drew much skepticism.

Pvt. Beauchamp described how he made fun of a woman whose face had been severely scarred by an IED: "I love chicks that have been intimate with IEDS," Pvt. Beauchamp quotes himself as saying, loudly, to his buddies in the chow hall. "It really turns me on -- melted skin, missing limbs, plastic noses." "My friend was practically falling out of his chair laughing," Pvt. Beauchamp recounted. "The disfigured woman slammed her cup down and ran out of the chow hall."

Next, he described finding the remains of children in a Saddam-era mass grave uncovered when his unit was constructing a combat outpost: "One private...found the top part of a human skull...He marched around with the skull on his head...No one was disgusted. Me included."

Finally, Pvt. Beauchamp described another friend "who only really enjoyed driving Bradley Fighting Vehicles because it gave him the opportunity to run things over. He took out curbs, concrete barriers, corners of buildings, stands in the market, and his favorite target: dogs."

Pvt. Beauchamp described how his friend killed three dogs in one day: "He slowed the Bradley down to lure the first kill in, and, as the diesel engine grew quieter, the dog walked close enough for him to jerk the machine hard to the right and snag its leg under the tracks."

The New Republic's editors told Michael Goldfarb of the Weekly Standard the chow hall incident occurred at Forward Operating Base Falcon near Baghdad. Since only one company of soldiers at FOB Falcon have Bradleys, the outing of "Scott Thomas" was just a matter of time.

Now that they've demonstrated their diarist is a real soldier, the New Republic's editors feel vindicated. But the issue is not whether Pvt. Beauchamp is a soldier. It's whether he's telling the truth or not. And his story stinks to high heaven:

No one else at the base ever seems to have a seen a woman who fits the description of the woman in the chow hall. No mass graves have been discovered during the time Pvt. Beauchamp has been at FOB Falcon. It is physically impossible for the driver of a Bradley to see a dog to the immediate right of his vehicle.

It would be better for Pvt. Beauchamp if he made his stories up. It breaks no military rule to BS gullible liberal journalists. But if Pvt. Beauchamp is telling the truth, he and his buddies have broken so many articles of the Uniform Code of Military Justice that I haven't space to list them all.

It isn't only Pvt. Beauchamp who'd be in trouble. If the latter two stories are true, then his fire team leader, squad leader, platoon sergeant and platoon leader either witnessed them, and did nothing about them, or were negligent in supervising their soldiers. And if I were his company commander, I wouldn't be expecting below the zone promotion to major anytime soon.

His superiors won't be happy campers, and neither will his fellow troops, to whom he has brought unwanted scrutiny, deserved or not. I suspect Pvt. Beauchamp soon will be the guest of honor at a blanket party.

That he is Pvt. Beauchamp suggests this is not his first brush with the UCMJ. He called himself PFC Beauchamp on his Web site last September, which indicates he's been busted a stripe. He's been in the Army long enough to be a Spec 4.

On his blog (Sir Real Scott Thomas), Pvt. Beauchamp indicates he's an aspiring writer who joined the Army to establish credentials for voicing his liberal political opinions.

"I know that NOT participating in a war (and such a misguided one at that) should be considered better than wanting to be in one just to write a book," he wrote May 18, 2006. "But...maybe I'd rather be both."

But is Pvt. Beauchamp telling the truth about what he sees in Iraq?

In a blog entry for May 8, 2006, Pvt. Beauchamp describes an atrocity: "'Put a 556 in his head.' (The caliber of an M-16 rifle is .556 millimeters.) On the street below, the man's brown face dissolves in a thick red mist. The lights in the city's houses shut off in unison. Electricity rationing. Water rationing too. You ever tried to survive for more than a few hours in 120 degree weather?"

On May 8, 2006, Pvt. Beauchamp was in Germany, where temperatures rarely reach 120 degrees, and the electricity and water work just fine.

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/articles/2007/07/pvt_beauchamp_in_big_trouble_e.html

This story was big news at Lucianne.com, the New Republic, Michelle Malkin's blog, Milblogs, Blackfive (linked on my sidebar) etc. I have avoided publishing anything about it until now. Check it out, and let's see how it unfolds...

If you have time, please go to RealClearPolitics and click on some of their ads to make up for the length I published here; I hate seeing partial truths--or no truths--being posted about our guys...

Frankly, I don't know a real man that would let the comments about the supposedly disfigured woman go by (I'm surprised she didn't 'address' the issue, herself...) If I was in the military, no stupid grunt would've made that comment around me about one of my sisters... so that part of the story rings particularly untrue... To think the guys at the table would've been so sanguine about it is just bullshit.

Bobcat's Scratchings...

Come On, Dems, Explain Why This Is A Bad Thing...

'John Doe' Protection To Get Floor Vote
By Audrey Hudson

A late-night agreement yesterday guaranteed that so-called "John Doe" protection — to prevent airline passengers from being sued for reporting suspicious behavior — will get a floor vote in the House and Senate.

"This is a huge win — a hard-fought victory for House Republicans and, more importantly, for the American people," said Peter T. King, New York Republican and ranking member of the House Homeland Security Committee.

The provision survived a contentious congressional process before a House-Senate conference committee agreed just before midnight yesterday to include the measure in the final draft of the September 11 Commission bill.

The move ensures the provision cannot be amended on the floor. It is expected to come to a vote in both houses of Congress before the August recess.

more...

http://www.washingtontimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20070725/NATION/70725003/1002

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Let's Not Give In To the Quitters, Losers, Traitors

'General George S. Patton' Reminds Us Why We Fight

Look What the Feckless Democrats Have Planned:

*Murtha Pushes 'Big Time' Sept. Iraq Withdrawal Plan
NewsMax


A leading House Iraq war critic said Wednesday he'll soon push legislation that would order U.S. troop withdrawals to begin in two months and predicted Republicans will swing behind it this time.

A vote on Rep. John Murrtha's proposal likely will come in September, when Iraq commander Gen. David Petraeus delivers a long-anticipated assessment on the war and members of Congress weigh some $600 billion in defense spending requested by President Bush.

more...

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/7/25/140225.shtml?s=lh

*Hollywood Times Movie Release To Help Murtha
NYT


Now some in Hollywood want moviegoers to decide if the killing is emblematic of a war gone bad, part of a new and perhaps risky willingness in the entertainment business to push even the touchiest debates about post-9/11 security, Iraq and the troops’ status from the confines of documentaries into the realm of mainstream political drama.

On Sept. 14, Warner Independent Pictures expects to release “In the Valley of Elah,”a drama inspired by the Davis murder, written and directed by Paul Haggis, whose “Crash” won the Academy Award for best picture in 2006. The film stars Tommy Lee Jones as a retired veteran who defies Army bureaucrats and local officials in a search for his son’s killers. In one of the movie’s defining images, the American flag is flown upside down in the heartland, the signal of extreme distress.

more...

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/26/movies/26movi.html?_r=2&hp=&oref=slogin&pagewanted=print&oref=slogin

One way or the other, through media coverage, public support, lies, propaganda, or out-'n'-out calumny, the Democrat party and it's hangers-on are going to try and force General Petraeus--and America--to lose.

You Think These Folks Will Keep Us Safe???

Democrat Debate Debacle

I've just read the results of the Democrat "YouTube" debate on Mon. night... As I looked at the answers each Dem candidate gave--every Dem candidate gave--I was stunned by their mediocrity and political naivety.

Each candidate, in his or her own way, thinks that the world is comprised of a group of friendly puppies--puppies who just don't happen to know each other that well--but they're sure all want to play together. The roundly prescribed 'introduction' of one group to the other (“You can get on a cell phone and call somebody on the other side of the world right now!") was the sum total of what they thought necessary "in the cause of building peace.”

Kucinich explained that... he believes in “strength through peace”--(not "peace through strength"). During the debate, he said that he would “use the science of human relations and diplomacy,” along with “international agreements and treaties” to settle differences without fighting. (Then he'd better be the one signing both halves...) He also advocated that viewers “text peace” by using their cell phones to send the message to the whole world that they’re "tired of war." (Yep, that ought to do it!)

Bammie says [other countries] "may pose an extraordinary danger to this country, but we had the obligation to find areas where we can potentially move forward.” Edwards plans to spend his first year in office 'visiting' other countries in a whirlwind tour to 'get others to like us again'... Clinton, though more reluctant to meet with terrorist world leaders than Bama (who said he was willing to meet with them--without actually speaking to them...) said she wasn't sure she'd meet with rogue nations her first year in office... However, Joe Biden said it was ridiculous not to meet with them--as long it was alone, in their offices, and 'very late at night'... (He didn't want to be seen with them.)

The idea that we don't know Iran or Syria, or North Korea, or Iraq, or Pakistan, or Afghanistan, or Cuba, or Venezuela well enough is absurd; we've been dealing with these people since our founding (or theirs). They have been a continual fly in the ointment of modern times. It doesn't seem to matter how many times our extinction is called for, how often the specter of the 'weak horse' is dragged before us, how many maps from which the state of Israel is removed, or how many wishes for our destruction are penned, the clueless cabal of Dem candidates act like errant tv repairmen of old, who figure they'll 'have all the bugs out', if they can just twist one more knob of diplomacy with these folks!

The idea that those that threaten us, and build more weapons with which to do so in the future, are working towards the 'cause of building peace' is asinine. How many Achille Lauros, Israeli athlete graves, USS Coles, Mogadishu embassies, WTC's, Bali/London/Madrid bombings, Khobar Towers etc. do there have to be before they'll be taken at their word? These people DON'T WANT PEACE--the Democrats make a fatal mistake in thinking they do.

I don't care if you wine-and-dine the terrorists, Carnivale them, subsidize their refineries, carve up Israel into matchsticks, call muslims our best friends, import their workers, export our jobs, allow them to live and be educated here, cover our females in bad bed sheets, garbage-out our Bible, convert, revert, divert, or flirt--THEY SIMPLY DO NOT WANT US TO LIVE.

Nothing will make them want us to live. It doesn't matter which political party is in power, it doesn't matter what we give them, or what we turn ourselves into. Zawahiri has said it himself: "you people are always wanting to talk, to give us things... we don't want anything from you--we only want to kill you'... Thus, in the face of such nihilism and threat, peace is terribly, terribly overrated.

When a Democrat candidate says we 'have an obligation to move forward in the cause of building peace', what in the hell are they talking about? What obliges us so? Where--in any creed, document, Constitution, Bill Of Rights, Emancipation, prayer, invocation, salvo, motto, vow or slogan in the United States does it say we have made a bargain with the rest of the world to move everyone else toward peace--even, or especially, if they do not want it, do not conceive of it, do not work for it, or sacrifice to achieve it on their own? Where have we made this bargain, in particular, when it is predicated upon our own destruction? Can there be any more foolish antithesis to living?

Next time, put away YouTube's 20 or 30 'well-chosen questions' and ask the sniveling, war-protesting, Cindy-Sheehan-sucking, Democrat debate candidates to explain that.

Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Democrat Equals Defeat

Democrat Equals Defeat
By Carol Platt Liebau

“Sagging ratings may not hurt Democrats,” the headline of a recent AP story proclaimed triumphantly. According to the political strategists cited in the piece, historically low Congressional approval ratings are attributable to “widespread anger over the war in Iraq, and lawmakers’ inability to change the war’s course.” Therefore, the experts concluded, “Republicans are still far more vulnerable than Democrats.”

Put aside the inconvenient fact that Congress’ ratings have been even lower than those of the war’s chief proponent, President George W. Bush. To the extent that Republican vulnerability on war-related issues remains, it means only one thing: They’ve failed to communicate a very simple truth – that Democratic leadership means fecklessness and defeat when it comes to the war in Iraq in particular, and the war on terror generally.

more...

http://www.townhall.com/Columnists/CarolPlattLiebau/2007/07/23/democrat_equals_
defeat

Who Are the Demmies Trying To Fool?

Democrats, Whom Do You Think You're Fooling?
By W. Stovall Witte III

Democrats seeking nomination for the 2008 Presidential election must think the American people are pretty gullible. How else can one explain the location and the format they've chosen for their next national debate?

You see, on Monday, July 23rd, the South Carolina Democratic Party is hosting all the candidates at the Citadel. They arranged this knowing that an audience of uniformed cadets would attend, so as to offer the national television audience a tacit military endorsement for their leftist, anti-military positions.

What's worse is my fellow students at the Citadel won't even be allowed to ask questions of the candidates. They are to be seen but not heard, as all questions for the debate must be submitted in advance through the internet site YouTube. CNN is televising the debate and will have the prerogative to ignore tough questions, such as the candidates' views on the military.

Liberals have a long history of undercutting our military recruiting efforts and scuttling every piece of legislation that gives our armed forces the necessary tools to defend America. They do not seem to understand that, regardless how one feels about the current war itself, complete support for the members of our armed forces AND their mission is needed so as not to dishonor anyone in the military. Or, if they do, debating at The Citadel seems distastefully ironic.
Citadel Cadets deserve to hear these candidates answer the questions that concern us, particularly since they are exploiting our school and our distinguished heritage of selfless national service for their own personal political gain.

These candidates all declare to "support the troops," but we need to examine what they have done to see if these oft-heard words ring true.

While dodging the call to serve during Vietnam, Bill Clinton wrote that he "loathed" the military. Have any of these candidates, particularly Hillary, ever publicly condemned Bill's statement or his draft-dodging actions?

What about the words of John Kerry, who has stated our armed forces are in the business of "terrorizing kids and children"?

In my opinion, these candidates must publicly condemn the words of their party's last presidential contender and last president if they expect anyone to buy their supposed "support." But, beyond their words, what have these candidates actually done to improve our nation's defenses?

When was the last time they voted to fund modernizing battlefield equipment and increasing the availability of combat replacement parts and supplies?

When was the last time they voted to offer improved military pay and benefits or to reduce, or even eliminate, the taxes paid by members of the armed forces?

What initiatives, such as the Solomon amendment, have they sponsored to strengthen recruiting efforts for our all-volunteer force? Unlike The Citadel, many high schools and colleges nationwide restrict the access students have to meet with military recruiters on campus and refuse to host the Reserve Officers' Training Corps (ROTC). What have these candidates done to expand our military, such as pushing for a military presence on campus at schools like Harvard, Yale, and Stanford?

If we can all agree that America is the best country in the world, then why can't we agree that America should be readily protected by the strongest military in the world and that having the strongest military in the world means we need to encourage as many people from as many places as possible to serve voluntarily? Furthermore, can't we all agree that members of the military should be treated with the utmost respect at all times through words and, much more importantly, deeds?

As America and the Western world continue the long-war throughout the world with radical jihadists, my peers and I are going to need more help, not less, if we expect to be victorious as we step into roles of military and civilian leadership.

If liberals continue to not support the mission, then they will inevitably not "support the troops" by not funding them. Going into armed conflict, knowing that you are not as strong as you could be because of unsupportive people and policies back home, will hopefully be a situation no soldier has to face. Either liberals do not understand how real this possibility is, or they are actively seeking to make it a reality.

My freshman year at The Citadel I learned many things. I was instructed how to shine shoes, how to march in formation, and even how to eat properly. But two of the most important lessons cadets at The Citadel learn are the importance of being completely honest and respecting those who serve in the armed forces. I, of course, hope the candidates in Monday's debate will learn these lessons while here, but as Ronald Reagan once said, "If history teaches anything, it teaches that self-delusion in the face of unpleasant facts is folly."

http://www.townhall.com/columnists/WStovallWitteIII/2007/07/23/whom_do_you_think
_youre_fooling

Justice Has Been A Long Time Coming For Ward Churchill!

image hosting for myspace hosted images

Regents Vote To Fire Churchill
KUSATV

The University of Colorado Board of Regents voted to terminate controversial professor Ward Churchill on Tuesday evening.

The Board of Regents passed a motion to accept the recommendation from CU President Hank Brown to fire Churchill from his position in the Ethnic Studies department. The measure passed with an 8 to 1 vote. The vote was made just after 5:30 p.m.

Immediately after the decision was announced people in the crowd booed and some swore at the board members. Churchill and his supporters then participated in a Native American ceremony outside of the building. Also after the board made its decision, Brown and Board Chair Patricia Hayes spoke with the media. "It's been a long hard day," said Hayes. "Not an easy decision for the board." "One of the most difficult decisions a university has to face happened today and I don't think we had a choice," said Brown.

Hayes disputed the claim that Churchill had made earlier in the day on Tuesday that the decision to fire him was pre-determined. "It was pre-ordained two and a half years ago. Everything's been an orchestration to make that seem to be a justifiable outcome," said Churchill in an interview with 9NEWS.

"(The other day) somebody asked me, 'What do you think the board is going to do?' And I didn't know," said Hayes. "I really didn't know where my fellow board members were coming from until we had the discussion today."

"This case was an example not of mistakes, but an effort to falsify history and fabricate history and in the final analysis, this individual did not express regret or apologize," said Brown. "This is a faculty that has an outstanding reputation and this move today protects that reputation.""At the end of the day we had to look at what these three committees had presented to us and what 25 tenured faculty had said and that was really important to all the board members," said Hayes.

more...

http://www.9news.com/news/top-article.aspx?storyid=74224