Saturday, June 30, 2007

Not MORE Shady Dealings By the Dems?!!!

Nancy Pelosi Invests In Iran-Linked Company
By Dick Morris and Eileen McGann

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) has disclosed that she holds stock valued at up to $15,000 in Alcatel-Lucent (formerly Alcatel SA), a company with extensive investments in Iran and Sudan — nations that sponsor terrorism.

The disclosure of Pelosi’s holdings comes at the same time that legislation is making its way through the California legislature barring state pension fund managers from investing in companies, like Alcatel-Lucent, that do business with "terror-friendly" nations.

According to Divestterror.org, a citizens group pushing a South Africa-style disinvestment program to discourage companies from doing business in terror countries, Alcatel-Lucent’s investments in terror countries are so extensive that it is included on the organization’s “dirty dozen” list of offending companies. The organization estimates that the company has invested upwards of $300 million in terror sponsoring nations during the past five years.

more...

MUST READ: Take Them At Their Word...

Believe the Words Of Our Enemies
NewsMax


Almost as upsetting as the fact that the United States is engaged in a long-term global war against radical Islamists is that a shocking percentage of people seem predisposed against grasping it.


To the perennially oblivious, we are in a war of choice in Iraq, which, among other "elective" actions, is stoking extremism and provoking retaliatory action against us. If we will just cease and desist these actions and otherwise alter those policies giving rise to grievances among radical Muslims, their rage will subside and they'll quit targeting us for extinction.

Those afflicted with this line of thinking not only believe it is our actions and policies that cause terrorists to hate us, but that many of those actions and policies are indeed objectionable.

That is, many of those who think global jihadists can be pacified uncoincidentally also believe they have legitimate complaints against the United States.

To these critics, America is not a shining city on a hill, not a beacon of freedom, not an exemplar of civil liberties, but, under the evil Bush administration at least, a nation that intermeddles in other nations' civil wars and ethnic disputes, systematically abuses and tortures enemy prisoners, spies on its own innocent citizens, runs roughshod over other nations in dictating its will on the international stage and is inhospitable to illegal immigrants.

The critics are projecting their own complaints about the United States on to the jihadists and choosing to believe, despite the overwhelming weight of the evidence and all common sense, that our enemy can be mollified if we'll just quit being a greedy, imperialistic superpower that seeks to impose its will and values on other peoples and exploit their resources.

Of course, these blame-America-firsters are wrong on their complaints against this country. But they are just as wrong about the appeasability of Muslim terrorists.

The terrorists don't just hate us for certain policies we pursue, such as our "occupation" of Saudi Arabia, our alliance with Israel or our stubborn refusal to withdraw from Iraq's "civil war." They hate us because of who we are and what we represent. We could adopt every America-denigrating policy our domestic critics recommend and we'd not make a dent in the enemy's hatred for us.

We can't afford to perpetuate this self-destructive denial of the threat that is right in front of our faces. Our national survival depends on our awareness that short of our national conversion to radical Islam, we are destined for a long-term war against the jihadists.

There is no surer evidence of our enemies' unquenchable malice against us than their own words, which reveal their thinking and sinister intentions. And I've seen no better single, readable source for this than Jed Babbin's alarming new book, "In the Words of Our Enemies."


Based on extensive research, Babbin gives us transcripts of speeches, sermons, interviews and other candid statements delivered by terrorist leaders and the radical sheiks who fan the flames of anti-Western hatred in their mosques. You cannot read them and remain unaware that our enemies are irreversibly implacable and increasing in numbers and resolve.

The radicals believe they have a sacred duty to submit the world to Islamic theocracy, that "it is impossible to make peace with the Jews" and that Muslims "must not enter into a pact with them." "Jihad against them is our worship." "Educating children to Jihad and hatred of the Jews, the Christians, and the infidels … This is what is needed now." They are convinced Islam is invincible, and they will not negotiate with infidels. The West, by its very nature, is an enemy of Islam. There can be no coexistence.

They believe the way we live and project our values around the world, including our respect for and equal treatment of women, constitutes an unappeasable threat to Islam.

America's intractable domestic critics who believe we can mollify the Osamas by withdrawing from Iraq, ending our presence in Saudi Arabia and badmouthing Israel, should read portions from the al-Qaida manual beginning on page 60 of Babbin's book: "The confrontation that Islam calls for with these godless and apostate regimes, does not know Socratic debates, Platonic ideals nor Aristotelian diplomacy. But it knows the dialogue of bullets, the ideals of assassination, bombing, and destruction, and the diplomacy of the cannon and machine gun."

Every other sermon, speech and screed in this book is equally chilling. Purchasing and reading it is one of the best antidotes I can imagine for the ignorance and apathy that could lead to our national suicide.

To find out more about David Limbaugh, please visit his Web site at
www.davidlimbaugh.com.

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/articles/2007/6/29/100542.shtml

Friday, June 29, 2007

But, Terrorism Is Just A Bumpersticker, Remember

Explosives-Packed Car Defused in London
By David Stringer

Police in London's bustling nightclub and theater district on Friday defused a bomb that could have killed hundreds after an ambulance crew spotted smoke coming from a Mercedes filled with a lethal mix of gasoline, propane and nails, authorities said.

The bomb near Piccadilly Circus was powerful enough to have caused "significant injury or loss of life"—possibly killing hundreds, British anti-terror police chief Peter Clarke said.

The discovery resurrected fears that followed the July 7, 2005, suicide bombings that killed 52 people on three London subways and a bus and failed attacks on the transit system just two weeks later.

"We are currently facing the most serious and sustained threat to our security from international terrorism," Britain's new home secretary, Jacqui Smith, said after an emergency meeting of top officials.

But in Washington, two U.S. officials briefed on the investigation said British authorities had so far found no terrorist link in the early hours of the investigation. The officials, who spoke on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to discuss the case, said the inquiry had yielded no suspects and no definitive description of anyone leaving the vehicle.

Police were examining footage from closed-circuit TV cameras, Clarke said, hoping the surveillance network that covers much of central London will help them track down the driver of the Mercedes.

U.S. Rep. Peter King, the ranking Republican on the House Homeland Security Committee, said British authorities saw a man fiddling with a cell phone near the Mercedes.

"They found a cell phone and it was going to be used to detonate the bomb," said King, R-N.Y.

more...

Jefferson Can Always Teach Him How To Keep It On Ice

Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr.’s Airport Earmark
NewsMax

Democratic Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr. has put in an earmark request for the Abraham Lincoln National Airport Commission. The trouble is, the airport doesn’t exist – and the commission is run by one of Jackson’s congressional staffers.

According to its Web site, the Airport Commission "has a mandate from its members to plan, develop, finance, construct and operate a commercial airport with passenger and cargo facilities near University Park, Illinois.” The airport would be the third in the Chicago area.

Jackson’s earmark would take $231,000 from U.S. taxpayers for "Minority and Small Business Development and Procurement Opportunities.”

The House’s Republican Study Committee (RSC) said in a statement: "It seems rather curious than an airport that doesn’t yet exist would need to develop opportunities for minorities and small businesses.”

The Commission’s Web site reveals that the Executive Director of the Lincoln Airport Commission is Richard Bryant. Legistorm.com, a site that tracks congressional staff and salaries, lists Bryant as the Deputy District Administrator for Rep. Jackson, who represents a Chicago-area district.

The money request comes even though in 2006 Jackson had vowed on his Web site: "I won’t pursue federal funds for the Abraham Lincoln National Airport.”

The earmark came to light in a report for the Financial Appropriations Bill.

The RSC statement said: "Thankfully, Congressman John Campbell, R-Calif., chairman of the RSC Budget and Spending Taskforce, will offer an amendment that will protect taxpayers by prohibiting their dollars from being used for this extremely questionable earmark.”

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/6/29/110958.shtml?s=ic

Sounds A Little Like WMD's To Me

Saddam Tried to Build Nuclear ICBM
By Stewart Stogel

In a wide-ranging comprendium on Saddam Hussein's secret weapons programs, the U.N. Monitoring, Observation, Verification and Inspection Commission (UNMOVIC) reveals that in late 1989, Saddam's military launched a modified Scud missile that could have carried a nuclear warhead.

In a document released on Thursday, UNMOVIC states:

"In its only test flight on Dec. 5, 1989, the Al Abid space launch vehicle flew for about 45 seconds before encountering (an unidentified) problem. This space launch vehicle consisting of five Scud engines for its first stage had the potential to deliver a payload, including nuclear, to an intercontinental range."

The issue of Iraqi nuclear missiles had been periodically raised by Russian authorities when it became known that the Al Abid missile had the potential of reaching Moscow.
The missile was also believed capable of reaching as far west as Paris.

Iraq's deputy prime minister, Tariq Aziz, repeatedly waved off Western concerns about the missile program. Now, it has become clear that such concerns were justified.

The 1,160-page report to be examined by the U.N. Security Council on Friday is likely to be the last by the U.N. inspectors. The U.S. and the UK intend to introduce a resolution to disband the inspection unit.

Down from more than 300 personnel, the remaining 34 UNMOVIC staffers had spent most of their time these days analyzing docuements they had impounded before Saddam was overthrown in 2003.

Another Award Becomes Irrelevant

Streisand Awarded France's Legion of Honor
NewsMax

"It is with such baubles that men are led." Napoleon III

Barbra Streisand performed her first-ever concert in France this week — and was rewarded with a medal of the Legion of Honor.

French President Nicolas Sarkozy awarded the singer in a ceremony in Paris on Thursday evening, the first time the new president had bestowed the honor upon anyone since he took over last month from Jacques Chirac. "You are the America that we love," said Sarkozy, seen as more U.S.-friendly than his predecessor. "Women like you ... do a lot to bring our two peoples together."

"My kids told me, 'Now you're really president,'" when they heard Streisand was coming to the presidential palace, Sarkozy said.

more...

Heeeeeeeere's Annie!

That Was No Lady -- That Was My Husband
By Ann Coulter


The Edwards campaign is apparently still running low on donations, so this week they went back to their top fundraiser: me.


I doubled the ratings of the lowest-rated cable news show on Tuesday by agreeing to go on for a full hour to promote my new paperback version of "Godless" -- a mistake I won't make again. As I was walking to the set, minutes before airtime, it was casually mentioned to me that Elizabeth Edwards, wife of Democratic presidential candidate, John Edwards, might call in.

For the first time in recorded history, the show's host did not interrupt a guest, but let Elizabeth Edwards ramble on and on, allowing her to browbeat me for being mean to her husband. (This delicate flower is very sensitive to rough words, having hired the Edwards' campaign staffer who wrote this: "What if Mary had taken Plan B after the Lord filled her with his hot, white, sticky Holy Spirit"?)

Say, did any TV host ever surprise Al Franken, Bill Maher or Arianna Huffington with a call by the wife of someone they've made nasty remarks about? How about a call to John Edwards from the wife of a doctor he bankrupted with his junk-science lawsuits?

I think I may have tuned out at some point, so I can only speak to the first 45 minutes of Elizabeth Edwards' harangue, but it mostly consisted of utterly dishonest renditions of things I had said on my "Good Morning America" interview this week and a column I wrote four years ago. (You can't rush Edwards' "rapid response team"!)

more...

http://www.breitbart.com/anncoultercolumn.html

Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter Cleaning Needed

*Stonewall Democrat Leader Had Sex In Public

http://www.dallasnews.com/sharedcontent/dws/news/localnews/stories/DN-latebrief_28met.ART.State.Edition1.43ac4d4.html

*Democrat Kennedy Flew On Jet Owned By Sallie Mae

http://www.boston.com/news/local/allpolitics/2007/06/kennedy_flew_on.html

*Former Democrat Governor Gets 7-Year Sentence in Bribery Case

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/29/us/29alabama.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

Thursday, June 28, 2007

Leahy's Gotta Whine

Bush Won't Supply Subpoenaed Documents
By Terence Hunt

President Bush, moving toward a constitutional showdown with Congress, asserted executive privilege Thursday and rejected lawmakers' demands for documents that could shed light on the firings of federal prosecutors.

Bush's attorney told Congress the White House would not turn over subpoenaed documents for former presidential counsel Harriet Miers and former political director Sara Taylor.

Congressional panels want the documents for their investigations of Attorney General Alberto Gonzales' stewardship of the Justice Department, including complaints of undue political influence.

The Democratic chairmen of the two committees seeking the documents accused Bush of stonewalling and disdain for the law, and said they would press forward with enforcing the subpoenas.

"With respect, it is with much regret that we are forced down this unfortunate path which we sought to avoid by finding grounds for mutual accommodation," White House counsel Fred Fielding said in a letter to the chairmen of the Senate and House Judiciary Committees. "We had hoped this matter could conclude with your committees receiving information in lieu of having to invoke executive privilege. Instead, we are at this conclusion."

Thursday was the deadline for surrendering the documents. The White House also made clear that Miers and Taylor would not testify next month, as directed by the subpoenas, which were issued June 13.

more...

http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=D8Q1V3E80&show_article=1

We Know Who the 'Losers' Are...

Free Speech Is Unfair To Losers
By James Lewis

Several of my liberal friends have a funny conversational tic: Whenever the talk wanders into certain topics, they abruptly switch off --- change the subject, or urgently go off to do something else. We're friends, so I never try to push them back to that dangerous little "Eeeek!" moment.

But it's just as if they have a little thermometer in their heads, and when things get dangerous, the red line goes way up and all that mercury threatens to squirt out of the top. You can practically see it happening right in front of your eyes.

That's what Sigmund Freud called "signal anxiety" --- or mentally going "Eeeek!" --- there's danger up ahead! Don't let your thoughts run that way! Because, of course, liberals are horribly afraid that they might be wrong --- about abortion, or the war, or whatever secret doubts they harbor in their hearts. It's why they have to shout so loud to drown out other voices.

more...

http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2007/06/free_speech_is_unfair_to_loser.html

Wednesday, June 27, 2007

So Much For Dems For Free Speech...

Kerry For Fairness Doctrine; Correct 'Imbalance'

'King' For MORE Than A Day

Venezuela's Chavez Seen Wanting Office "For Life"
By Bernd Debusmann

Insecurity, "malignant narcissism" and the need for adulation are driving Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez's confrontation with the United States, according to a new psychological profile. Eventually, these personality traits are likely to compel Chavez to declare himself Venezuela's president for life, said Dr. Jerrold Post, who has just completed the profile for the U.S. Air Force.

Chavez won elections for a third term last December. Since then he has stepped up his anti-American rhetoric, vowed to accelerate a march towards "21st Century socialism" and suggested that he intends to stay in power until 2021 -- a decade beyond his present term. But Post -- who profiled foreign leaders in a 21-year career at the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency and now is the director of the Political Psychology Program at George Washington University -- doubts that Chavez plans to step down even then. "He views himself as a savior, as the very embodiment of Venezuela," Post said in an interview.

"He has been acting increasingly messianic and so he is likely to either get the constitution rewritten to allow for additional terms or eventually declare himself president-for-life." Post portrays Chavez as "a masterful political gamesman" who knows that his popularity largely rests on being seen as a strong leader who takes on the United States, the Venezuelan elite and a host of other perceived enemies -- often with public insults that are rarely used by other leaders.

"To keep his followers engaged, he must continue outrageous and inflammatory attacks," Post said.

more...


Two Oil Giants Defy Chavez

The Dems Are Going To 'PC' Us To Death

Hindu Prayer Will Open Senate Session in July
By Nathan Burchfiel

For what is believed to be the first time in its history, the U.S. Senate will on July 12 be opened with a Hindu prayer, the Senate Chaplain's Office confirmed Monday. For more than 200 years, the Senate has opened each workday with a prayer usually delivered by the Senate Chaplain, currently Barry Black, a Seventh Day Adventist.

It is common, however, for senators to recommend religious leaders from their home states to serve as guest chaplains. Rajan Zed, a Hindu chaplain from Nevada, on will become the first Hindu to deliver the morning prayer. In a statement announcing his scheduled appearance, Zed called the occasion "an illustrious day for all Americans and a memorable day for us."

more...

http://www.cnsnews.com/ViewCulture.asp?Page=/Culture/archive/200706/CUL20070626a.html

The Leftist's Attack On Free Speech:

Censorship Disguised as Fairness
By Paul Weyrich

I am worried.

This is not my usual state of mind, but so many signs point to trouble. There are various things of concern, such as the immigration bill, and more obscure issues, such as the Trans-North American Highway, which may have the effect of giving up our sovereignty.

I am worried about what is happening to talk-radio in this country. Hopefully it does not resemble Hugo Chavez's actions in Venezuela. If you report anything against his regime you are shut down.

The assault against talk-radio here is not quite as drastic as that of the Chavez assault. It could have the same effect. There was no talk-radio as we know it today until the Ronald W. Reagan administration. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) repealed the so-called Fairness Doctrine.

The reason stations did not have much talk-radio was because of the Doctrine. For instance, if I appeared on a radio program and expressed strong views on a topic, someone of a different point of view could appear at the station and time would have to be made available. In fact, if there were six different points of view time would need to be made available to all of them.

The left does not like the fact that conservatives dominate talk-radio. It is no coincidence that Rush Limbaugh, king of talk-radio, began syndication in 1988. It is likely that an attempt will be made to reinstate the Fairness Doctrine this fall or winter.

more...

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/articles/2007/6/26/95419.shtml

Tuesday, June 26, 2007

British Jewry In Crisis

British Jewry In Crisis
By Isi Leibler

The call for a boycott against Israeli academicians by the British University and College Union (UCU) reflects the depths to which vicious hostility against Israel has become ingrained in British society. It is an abomination for "educators," purporting to be liberal or progressive, to sanction a dastardly resolution boycotting academics from the only democratic state in the Middle East.


It is especially bizarre because Israeli universities are pluralistic with no limitations on the enrolment of Israeli Arab students. In stark contrast, many Palestinian Arab "universities" promote a cult of death, suicide bombers and the destruction of the Jewish state.

It may be politically incorrect to describe such boycotts as anti-Semitic rather than anti-Israel. But the time has now surely come to call a spade a spade.

more...

http://www.jpost.com/servlet/Satellite?cid=1182409638498&pagename=JPost%2FJPArticle%2FShowFull

Monday, June 25, 2007

Look Forward To Anger

It's Impossible To Satisfy "Rage Boy" and His Ilk
By Christopher Hitchens

If you follow the link, you will be treated to some scenes from the strenuous life of a professional Muslim protester in the Kashmiri city of Srinagar. Over the last few years, there have been innumerable opportunities for him to demonstrate his piety and his pissed-offness. And the cameras have been there for him every time.

Is it a fatwah? Is it a copy of the Quran allegedly down the gurgler at Guantanamo? Is it some cartoon in Denmark? Time for Rage Boy to step in and for his visage to impress the rest of the world with the depth and strength of Islamist emotion.

Last week, there was another go-round of this now-formulaic story, when Salman Rushdie accepted a knighthood from her majesty the queen, and the whole cycle of hysteria started up again. Effigies and flags burned (is there some special factory in Karachi that churns out the flags of democratic countries for occasions like this?), wounded screams from religious nut bags, bounties raised to suborn murder, and solemn resolutions passed by notional bodies such as the Pakistani "parliament."

A few months ago, it was the pope who was being threatened, and Christians in the Middle East and Muslim Asia who were actually being killed. Indeed, Rage Boy had a few yells and gibberings to offer on that occasion, too.

more...

Thanks, Al...

Scientist Implicates Worms EditingMySpace.com,Your one stop graphic spotIn Global Warming
ShortNews.com

Jim Frederickson, the research director at the Composting Association has called for data on worms and composting to be re-examined after a German study found that worms produce greenhouse gases 290 times more potent than carbon dioxide.

Worms are being used commercially to compost organic material and is in preference to putting it into the landfill. The German government wants 45% of all waste to be composted by 2015.
"Everybody... thinks they can do no harm but they contribute to global warming. People are looking into alternative waste treatments but we have to make sure that we are not jumping from the frying pan into the fire," said Frederickson.

http://www.shortnews.com/start.cfm?id=63227

With Friends Like This...

“Turncoat” Trent Lott Helping Democrat Debs
By Judi McLeod


It's Monday and 'little man Lott' and 'little man Lamb' have got this not so little problem: radio talk show kings Rush Limbaugh and Michael Savage are back on the airwaves.

‘Little man Lott' is Republican Senator “Turncoat” Trent Lott helping Democrat debs Hillary Clinton, Barbara Boxer and Dianne Feinstein revive the tattered corpse of the so-called fairness doctrine.

‘Little man Lamb' is C-SPAN's head honcho Brian Lamb, who waited until Michael Savage was safely out of town before attacking him over sending a DVC speech instead of himself to pick up his Freedom of Speech award in person at a gathering in New York.

Feeling the full heat of the immigration bill, a liberal posse, with a little help from 'Republicans” like Turncoat Trent Lott, are on a witch-hunt to censor talk radio.

more...

Crazy AND Dangerous

Hugo Chavez: Prepare for War With U.S.
NewsMax

President Hugo Chavez urged soldiers on Sunday to prepare for a guerrilla-style war against the United States, saying that Washington is using psychological and economic warfare as part of an unconventional campaign aimed at derailing his government.


Dressed in olive green fatigues and a red beret, Chavez spoke inside Tiuna Fort—Venezuela's military nerve-center—before hundreds of uniformed soldiers standing alongside armored vehicles and tanks decorated with banners reading: "Fatherland, Socialism, or Death! We will triumph!"

"We must continue developing the resistance war, that's the anti- imperialist weapon. We must think and prepare for the resistance war everyday," said Chavez, who has repeatedly warned that American soldiers could invade Venezuela to seize control of the South American nation's immense oil reserves.

U.S. officials reject claims that Washington is considering a military attack. But the U.S. government has expressed concern over what it perceives as a significant arms build-up here.

more...

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/6/25/75325.shtml?s=ic

Sunday, June 24, 2007

What D'RATS Want In A President:

From DU: What Are You Looking For In A Presidential Candidate?

1. I am looking for someone who can and will end the fiasco in Iraq.
2. I am looking for someone who can and will restore the Fairness Doctrine.
3. I am looking for someone who can and will win the election.
4. I am looking for someone who can and will hold Bush and his fellow criminals accountable.
5. I am looking for someone who can and will restore honesty, integrity, and transparency in the voting process.
6. I am looking for someone who can and will impeach the felonious five on the USSC, as well as others who have destroyed the Constitution.
7. I am looking for someone who can and will make universal healthcare an American institution.
8. I am looking for someone who will be a true uniter.
9. I am looking for someone who can and will restore our country's image to the world.
10. I am looking for someone who has foreign policy experience.
11. I am looking for someone who is anti-war, because they have seen firsthand what war really is.
12. I am looking for someone who has a humble background.
13. I am looking for someone who can and will restore the U.S. Constitution to it's pre-Bush state.
14. I am looking for someone with bipartisan appeal.
15. I am looking for someone with diplomatic experience.
16. I am looking for someone who is a true progressive, liberal Democrat.
17. I am looking for someone who believes that everyone had a right to a college education.
18. I am looking for someone who will honor our veterans.
19. I am looking for someone who will not discriminate.
20. I am looking for someone who can and will make the minimum wage a true living wage.

More to follow, I'm sure... (Dinger)

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=132x3336803

A Bit Of Good News...

Iraq's 'Chemical Ali' Sentenced To Death
Associated Press


Two decades after Iraq's military laid waste to Kurdish villages, the Iraqi High Tribunal on Sunday sentenced Ali Hassan al-Majid, known as "Chemical Ali," and two others to death for their roles in the bloody campaign against the restive ethnic minority.


Al-Majid, a cousin of executed former president Saddam Hussein, was convicted of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes for ordering army and security services to use chemical weapons in an offensive said to have killed some 180,000 people during the 1980-88 Iran-Iraq war.

more...

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/19394865/

Saturday, June 23, 2007

Jabba the Butt

Michael Moore's Shticko
By Michael C. Moynihan

Michael Moore is as conspiratorial as ever. The online leaking of Sicko, his new documentary on the American health care system, was an "inside job," he said. It was an attempt at "ruining the opening weekend's box office" by those with a "vested interest" in seeing the film fail.

And that's not all. Government officials, the Fahrenheit 9/11 and Bowling for Columbine director told reporters, are so anxious about his paean to Cuba's health care system that he stashed the master reel in Canada, lest the Bush administration try to seize it.

But the administration needn't worry about Sicko. As with much of his previous work, Moore's latest film is, by turns, touching, naïve and maddeningly mendacious, a clumsy piece of agitprop that will likely have little lasting effect on the health care debate. Moore is right that the American system is sick—on this, there is bipartisan and public consensus.

The United States has the highest per capita health care spending in the world, with comparatively disappointing results. But his radical prescriptions, which include a call for a British-style, single-payer system, will likely have little resonance with viewers.

Indeed, according to a recent ABC News/Kaiser Family Health study, insured Americans are overwhelmingly (89 percent) satisfied with their own care, while broadly concerned about rising costs of prescription drugs and critical of the care others receive.

Sicko starts off rather well, with an effective montage of health care and bureaucratic nightmares, from insurers slithering out of active policies and denying coverage retroactively (with conditions as insignificant as a previously undisclosed yeast infection used as justification) to the rejection of new applicants for reasons both bizarre and abstruse (like the 6'2", 135 pound applicant turned down for being "too thin"). But as is often the case, Moore quickly overreaches, implying that such horror stories are de rigueur, a uniquely American problem that could only be solved with further government intervention.

more...

http://www.reason.com/news/show/120998.html

Friday, June 22, 2007

What the Dems Think Of 9/11 and America...

Myspace Layouts

From DU: Are You Still Terrified From Sept. 11th, 2001?

It was a terrible day, and what has happened to America since then has also been terrible. I was terrified on that day, we all were, are we still? I am not however terrified of Osama bin Laden because he seems to be utterly forgotten, I am now terrified of dick cheney and his plans for us all. Is the nine eleven mojo still working on you? Are you more terrified or less terrified now? (Philosoraptor)

DUers Chime In:

--I don't know - Katrina seems just as scary.

--Isn't it incredible how the fear and paranoia spread? Every time a plane passed overhead, I got a little anxious. It was like wildfire. I was terrified for weeks. This is why when people talk of a conspiracy, I have to say "hmmmmmmmmm"..... Bush's word was gold. The government could do no wrong. Everybody flew the flag. It was a neocon's dream.

--Really? Were you really terrified for weeks? I was very annoyed with people who were saying, "Thank goodness Al Gore isn't president!"

--I remember that some people reacted with fear, but many did not. I was asking a lot of questions that day, like, where is the president? My then-husband and I instantly knew that Osama bin Laden was responsible.

--To be honest, the whole thing never scared me that much. I watched everyone around me turn into raving paranoid nutcases, but without having the TV, I didn't get the subconscious programming that everyone else did, and I never got overly scared.

--I had TV at the time and I still wasn't scared.

--No, I was not terrified on that day. I didn't get scared until POS Bush started to turn our country into a secretive, police-state agitprop-driven aggressor nation.

--Not terrified, except of my gov't.

--No, in fact since Oct. 2001 and the Patriot Act, I've been far more frightened by the actions taken in response to it. Everything done in the name of 911 is hogwash perpetrated by authoritarians seeking to use it to gain power.


--I'm not terrified. I'm damn well pissed off at those who use it to further their nefarious plans. And I'm pissed off at everyone who buys into their meme, wringing their hands and saying "whatever it takes to keep us safe." Land of the Free and Home of the Brave? Not anymore.

--If I had known how bad things would get under Bush's fascist regime, THEN I would have been afraid. But the attacks of a handful of terrorists, while horrible, were not that unusual.

--Yes. I am petrified about what horrendous shit the evil fucking bastards occupying the White House are going to do to us next.

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x1159487

Sorry, I Had To Laugh Like An Ape At THIS One...

Profile Jewels @ profilejewels.net

Jane Fonda Wants Bush, Cheney Impeached
NewsMax


Jane Fonda and a number of other prominent liberal figures have joined a campaign to impeach President George Bush and Vice President Dick Cheney for "war crimes.”

An organization calling itself The World Can’t Wait has taken out a full-page ad in Friday’s New York Times seeking donations and announcing upcoming town meetings in several cities.
more...

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/6/22/105250.shtml?s=ic

Miss War Crimes Of 1972 has the nerve to accuse ANYBODY else of them! Only on the Left would folks be so arrogant--and so clueless.

The First DU d'RAT Review TRAITOR AWARDS!

myspace layouts, myspace codes, glitter graphics

From DU: I Call Bush A 'Piece Of Shit" In Front Of My Kids

I don't actually say the words, but I pronounce it "poss" ('POS'). After taking a huge dump, I sometimes will say upon leaving the restroom "wow that was a lot of Bush".

Yes, I teach them to DISRESPECT 'the president". The man is not worthy of an ounce of respect, and yeah, I'll say it - neither is the office. Respect is something that is EARNED. Just winning an election and surrrounding yourself with flags and trappings does not make a person or even his office worthy of respect. Only deeds can do that.

My kids are 7 and 9, and I have taught them since they were very small that George Bush is a liar and murderer and the worst person to take the presidency in American history. They have seen the photos of what Piece-Of-Shit Bush has done to Iraq, and they know the lies he told so he could do it.

Here in the public library they even have two excellent CHILDREN'S books about the devastation Piece-Of-Shit Bush brought upon Iraq, as well as the bullying and starvation campaign that was in effect ever since the FIRST Piece-Of-Shit Bush's war against them.

In spite of those things, I taught my kids not to hate this horrible man, because even he might possible somehow see the error of his ways someday and become a human being. I'm not holding my breath though...

My kids know they can love their country and still condemn its "leaders" when they are corrupt and traitorous.

I teach my kids these things because it's important for them to know, and I won't apologize for it. (Matsubara)

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x1148973

This post from Democrat Underground, the Democrat party, Leftists, and Liberals is the very essence of what they are all about. It is why they are bad for America--it is why we say they hate this country--and how they prove that they do. That anyone could teach their children these things reveals their thoroughly evil intentions; these comments speak to nothing else.

Vote for a Democrat in '08 and this is who you will be empowering.

Thursday, June 21, 2007

Like Gore, Edward's Causes Benefit HIMSELF Most

NYT: Main Beneficiary Of Edwards' Non-Profit Is Edwards Himself
NYT

John Edwards ended 2004 with a problem: how to keep alive his public profile without the benefit of a presidential campaign that could finance his travels and pay for his political staff.

Mr. Edwards, who reported this year that he had assets of nearly $30 million, came up with a novel solution, creating a nonprofit organization with the stated mission of fighting poverty. The organization, the Center for Promise and Opportunity, raised $1.3 million in 2005, and — unlike a sister charity he created to raise scholarship money for poor students — the main beneficiary of the center’s fund-raising was Mr. Edwards himself, tax filings show.

more...

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/22/us/politics/22edwards.html?_r=1&hp&oref=slogin

Libs, Dems, MSM = Bad For America

How Liberal Dems, Major Media Perpetuate A Cycle Of Negativity
By Investor's Business Daily


Last fall, when the jobless rate hit a five-year low of 4.4%, Vice President Cheney was asked by ABC's George Stephanopolous why the administration didn't get more credit for it. "Well," said Cheney, "you guys don't help."

So much for the understatement of 2006. Cheney, of course, was referring to the now-obvious fact that even when there's good news about the economy, it's played down — or turned upside down — by the mainstream media.

Coverage of that unemployment report, coming just before the congressional elections, was just one of many cases in point, as the Media Research Center (MRC) pointed out at the time.
ABC reported on the "exceptionally low" rate, as Stephanopolous described it — albeit 19 minutes into its evening newscast.

But "CBS, and NBC to a lesser extent, spun the good news into bad," MRC observed. "Though wages had grown by 3.9% over the (previous) 12 months, CBS Evening News anchor Katie Couric used the lower unemployment news as a segue to ask: 'But do the jobs out there pay enough? A big issue in the battle for Congress this year is how much the lowest-paid workers make.'

"Viewers then saw a full story on the plight of minimum wage workers and how raising it is 'resonating' with voters."

No wonder, said MRC, that an ABC News/Washington Post poll taken just before the election found more than half of Americans (53%) thought the economy was "not so good" or "poor."
"The big broadcast networks have buried the good economic news under an avalanche of bad news stories," MRS concluded. "While the real world offered good news, the networks presented pain."

more...

http://www.ibdeditorials.com/IBDArticles.aspx?id=267229438173731

Liberals Want End of 'Right-Wing Radio'

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/6/21/103732.shtml?s=ic

Wednesday, June 20, 2007

An Appalling Argument From the Dems

From DU: A Zygote Is Not A Human Being; This Stem Cell Veto Has Me Fuming

Once again, Mr. Bush panders to his dwindling base at the expense of millions of lives that could be saved as a result of stem cell research. Yet around 40% of Americans still believe the lie that destroying zygotes is tantamount to destroying a human life.


There is no debate here. The scientific facts regarding this issue are crystal clear. If you are one of the people who believe human life begins at conception because of so called "religious" reasons, I have to wonder where in the Bible it says or when Jesus or Allah or God or Zeus or whatever imaginary being you worship said the words "Thou shalt not remove DNA from thy zygote"

Your religious "leaders" are lying to you. A zygote is not a human being. A zygote is a cell with genetic information that has the potential to grow and develop into a human given the right environment.

Similarly, a sperm cell and an ovum also have the potential to grow and develop into a human, given the right environment, (eg. Close proximity in the latter environment), which, if followed to the religious fundamentalists' "logical" conclusion, makes every single menstruation and ejection of sperm (whether through masturbation or urination) the "killing of a human". It is absurd.

It angers and saddens me to see America - once the world's hub of scientific enlightenment - reduced to this. What happened to the America that invented the light bulb, the America that cured polio, the America that put a man on the moon?

Now, in the year 2007, there are creationist "museums", disclaimer stickers on biology textbooks regarding evolution, Arabic translators being kicked out of the military because of their sexual orientation, and the President of the United States vetoing scientific research because he and FORTY ONE PERCENT OF AMERICANS believe that a zygote is a human being.

How and when did America become a backwards theocracy? (lynyrd_skynyrd)

DUers Chime In:

--These people are a bunch of phonies, and I wouldn't be surprised if drug companies don't have some vested interest in preventing actual cures for things like diabetes, which they probably make a ton of money off of. I've seen George Bush send thousands of people to their deaths, he turned a cold shoulder to Katrina and more than a thousand people died, he's shown himself to be completely lacking in morality and compassion, despite his proclamations of being a "compassionate conservative". I know he doesn't give a damn about these embryos, he's just trying to play to his base and/or protect the big drug companies.

--Our bodies shed DNA 24/7 and don't see it as significant. Logically, that's no BFD.

--I do not murder other human beings not because I believe that all life is sacred, but because I believe it is not. Humans are a complex organism, and each individual has their own unique experiences, fears, personality. And yes, I've been "warned before" about the danger of my placing a value on sentience, as opposed to "life", but that's how I get through the day. It's why I do not have a moral objection to abortion, or euthenasia, but do oppose unnecessary wars.

--Point is, the elements that would do the most good are going to be disposed of, what difference does it make to a person of no interest? What difference does it make to the zygote?

--Yes, destroying a zygote is killing life. But its no big deal because life on its own is not what we value. Life is interesting and all. But its not the thing we give rights to. A petri dish full of skin cells cannot vote. It can't be murdered. It can't own things. Thats because it doesn't have a mind.

--Potential beings are not actual beings. Potential people have no rights.

-- Let's say bush has a stroke, but This may have been treated if stem cell research had gone ahead full steam. Years down the road, and bush, already debilitated, by the effects of said stroke, finds out he could have been cured if he had allowed said research to go on, but in his arrogance and complete misunderstanding of science, now lies in a bed, soiling himself and unable to change the channel on the TV, and the story gets looped as the greatest find in medical history, and it was so simple in retrospect, it would have been found in weeks.

This would be Justice.

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x1149175#1149236

The idiocy of these posts is so sadly apparent. That these dopes thinks a fertilized egg--one that, absent intervention, would develop into a human being--is not a 'life' is totally absurd. This is the hippy flipdip thinking of the Leftists, the Democrat party, who rationalize all kinds of B.S. to further their own aims.

Their lack of scientific knowledge--or plain common sense--is staggering. Their lack of moral direction is disgusting. Vote Dem in '08, and this is what you get.

Hillary Clinton Tape Reveals 'Felony'

Hillary Clinton Tape Reveals 'Felony'
By Fred Lucas CNSNews.com

A videotape shows New York Sen. Hillary Clinton committing felonies and should be admitted as new evidence in a California civil case, a forthcoming legal brief to be filed by Friday argues.
The tape shows Clinton - currently the leading Democratic presidential contender - speaking in 2000 with Peter Paul, a Hollywood mogul, and comic book icon Stan Lee about a massive fundraising event for her 2000 Senate race. Paul spent about $2 million of his own money to produce the event. The legal contribution limit to a candidate then was $2,000.

"The evidence is of that rare type that captures the very commission of a crime, namely, that of knowingly soliciting, coordinating and accepting federal campaign contributions far in excess of the legal limit of $2,000," says the brief to be filed by Paul's attorney with the Court of Appeal, 2nd Appellate District arguing in favor of including the tape as evidence.

more...

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/6/20/82937.shtml?s=ic

Hillary Booed Again at Liberal Conference

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/6/20/110216.shtml?s=ic

Tuesday, June 19, 2007

Sleaze Move By the Democrat Party Thwarted

Rush Limbaugh Stays Despite Censorship Bid
NewsMax


The government in Broward County, Fla., has given up on efforts to sever relations with a local radio station because it also carries Rush Limbaugh’s show.

As NewsMax reported, station WIOD AM-610 has been the official channel for emergency information from the county government for the past year. But on June 12, the County Commission – made up of all Democrats – refused to renew the relationship, with Commissioner Stacy Ritter saying a station airing Rush and other conservative hosts is "out of step with area politics.”

Four of the commission’s nine members were absent from that meeting.

After the story broke, commissioners were flooded with complaints from across the country, and Rush said on his show that the commission was an example of the nation’s out-of-control partisanship.

But the commission on Tuesday decided to end talk of dumping the station, the South Florida Sun-Sentinel reports.

"I have always, and will always, put the safety of Broward County residents first long before concerns over the comments of any particular program,” Broward Mayor Josephus Eggelletion said.

He added that Limbaugh’s views should not affect the decision on choosing a radio partner.

Please Pray For Them and Their Loved Ones

Largest Database of Images For Comments And Profiles at FreeCommentTags.com

Michael Moore's ‘Sicko' Stunts

Michael Moore's ‘Sicko' Stunts
By James Hirsen

I reported a while back on how filmmakers Debbie Melnyck and Rick Caine had set out to film a biography of someone they truly admired. However, while producing "Manufacturing Dissent," the two made a discovery that their hero, Michael Moore, was far from the person, or for that matter the professional, that they had imagined.

During their movie making experience, Melnyck and Caine learned about Moore's fabricated persona; in particular that he did not grow up in working class Flint, Mich., but in Davison, a wealthy nearby suburb.

They discovered that Moore was not removed as editor of Mother Jones for political reasons as he has claimed, but was fired for bad editing. They learned that Moore shot footage of himself and interspersed it with other events to imply things that never actually happened (such as Moore asking Roger Smith, former CEO of General Motors, a question at a shareholders' meeting).

The most devastating information unearthed, though, is that Moore actually did speak with then-GM chairman Roger Smith, whose supposed evasion is the central premise of "Roger & Me," but withheld the footage from the film. (Premiere previously reported this but "Manufacturing Dissent" actually displays footage of Moore interviewing Smith.)

"Anybody who says that is a [expletive] liar," Moore told The Associated Press when confronted with the charge at his Michigan "Sicko" sneak preview.

Moore also admitted that he had "a good five minutes of back and forth" with Smith at a 1987 shareholders' meeting, as reported by Premiere magazine in 1990. But Moore claims that was before he began working on "Roger & Me" and had nothing to do with the film.

By evading interviews with Melnyck and Caine, Moore and his staff behaved like the corporate targets that Moore despises. At one event, the filmmakers' soundboard was unplugged while other reporters were allowed to tape. At another event, a staffer kicked the filmmakers out of an arena and threw their camera to the ground.

An indication that the makers of "Manufacturing Dissent" had a serious change of heart about Moore was revealed in the tagline used to market the film. It read: "Michael Moore doesn't like documentaries. That's why he doesn't make them." A slogan that appeared on movie posters also conveyed their dampened sentiments: "It's Never Been so Hard to Get Michael Moore in Front of the Camera."

Because the criticism of Moore came from self-described "progressive liberals," who were originally motivated by their admiration for Moore before they reluctantly concluded that he was not what he appeared to be, the mainstream press actually treated the film more favorably than similar polemic material from the right.

Moore's talent has been to bring humor, a brisk pace and controversy to the documentary genre. "Manufacturing Dissent" demonstrated that Moore also brings fabrication.
Can we expect Moore of the same from "Sicko?"

more...

Zimbabwe's Ball and Chain

Mugabe Is Black People’s Role Model
The Standard Online


Like or hate him, Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe shares a passion with British Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton, golfer Tiger Woods and tennis greats Venus and Serena Williams — blacks breaking into a white men’s world.

At the end of the Canadian Formula One championships on Sunday, Hamilton became the first black driver to win a Grand Prix race in the sport’s 57-year history.

Woods, 31, whose father was half black, is rated among the best to have ever played golf, a white-dominated sport. Since storming another white-dominated sport in the mid-1990s, William sisters Venus and Serena have awed the world with their aggressive styles and numerous titles.

Mugabe’s words against the West during the recent Comesa meeting, was evidence of a lone ranger fighting modern-day imperialism. He needs comrades in Africa and the Third World.
His widely criticised and economically dangerous move to repossess land from whites and redistribute it to landless blacks was audacious and unprecedented.

Going by the thunderous reception Comesa leaders gave Mugabe, it is clear that most African countries have experienced the West’s skewed economic and trade policies.
The 1980s’ debilitating structural adjustment programmes are cases in point.

Stupid Idea; the Left Is PCing Us To Death...

NYC's Bloomberg: Pay 'Poor' for Good Behavior
FoxNews

Poor residents will be rewarded for good behavior - like $300 for doing well on school tests, $150 for holding a job and $200 for visiting the doctor - under an experimental anti-poverty program that New York City officials detailed Monday.

The rewards have been used in other countries, including Brazil and Mexico, and have drawn widespread praise for changing behavior among the poor. New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg traveled to Mexico this spring to study the healthy lifestyle payments, also known as conditional cash transfers.

In New York, the two-year pilot program with about 14,000 participants will use private funds Bloomberg has raised because he did not want to spend government money on something that is highly experimental. More than $43 million has been raised toward the $53 million goal, Deputy Mayor Linda Gibbs said.

The theory behind cash rewards is that poor people are trapped in a cycle of repeated setbacks that keep them from climbing out of poverty. A person who doesn't keep up with his vaccinations and doctor's visits, for example, may get sick more often and struggle to stay employed.

Bloomberg, a billionaire Republican, said he believes paying people in such circumstances to make good decisions could help break those patterns. The program "gives New Yorkers in poverty a financial incentive to look ahead and make decisions that will improve their prospects for the future," he said in a statement.

But some critics have raised questions about cash reward programs, saying they promote the misguided idea that poor people could be successful if they just made better choices.

more...

http://www.newsmax.com/archives/ic/2007/6/19/83733.shtml?s=ic

Pray For Them and Their Families...

Blaze at Furniture Warehouse in Charleston, South Carolina, Kills 9 Firefighters
FoxNews

CHARLESTON, S.C. — Nine firefighters died in South Carolina fighting a blaze that swept through a furniture warehouse Monday night, collapsing the building's roof upon them, in a disaster the mayor described Tuesday as "difficult to fathom or quantify."

"They were heroes," Charleston Mayor Joseph P. Riley told FOX News Tuesday. "They were concerned about people being trapped in the building. They were heroes. They were fighting the fire and the fire overwhelmed them."

Riley said the county coroner planned to disclose the names of the dead once positive identifications are made.

Two employees in the building were rescued from the blaze, which broke out at about 7 p.m. Monday in the Sofa Super Store and warehouse, but the disaster has been "difficult to fathom or quantify," he said. The cause of the fire was under investigation, but Riley said arson was not suspected.

"Nine brave, heroic, courageous firefighters of the city of Charleston have perished fighting fire in a most courageous and fearless manner, carrying out their duties," Riley said at a morning news conference. "To all of their loved ones, our heart goes out to them."

more...

Monday, June 18, 2007

Free Scooter Libby

Free Scooter Libby
By Christopher Hitchens


If Scooter Libby goes to jail, it will be because he made a telephone call to Tim Russert and because Tim Russert has a different recollection of the conversation. Can this really be the case? And why is such a nugatory issue a legal matter in the first place?

Before savoring the full absurdity of the thing, please purge your mind of any preconceptions or confusions.

--Mr. Libby was not charged with breaking the Intelligence Identities Protection Act.

--Nobody was ever charged with breaking that law, designed to shield the names of covert agents. Indeed, the prosecutor, Patrick Fitzgerald, determined that the law had not been broken in the first place.

--The identity of the person who disclosed the name of Valerie Plame to Robert Novak—his name is Richard Armitage, incidentally—was known to those investigating the non-illegal leak before the full-dress inquiry began to grind its way through the system, incidentally imprisoning one reporter and consuming thousands of man hours of government time (and in time of war, at that).

--In the other two "counts" in the case, both involving conversations with reporters (Judith Miller of the New York Times and Matthew Cooper of Time), Judge Reggie Walton threw out the Miller count while the jury found for Libby on the Cooper count.

--The call to Russert was not about Plame in any case; it was a complaint from the vice president's office about Chris Matthews, who was felt by some to have been overstressing the Jewish names associated with the removal of Saddam Hussein. Russert was called in his capacity as bureau chief; any chitchat about Wilson and Plame was secondary.

--The call was made after Robert Novak had put his fateful column (generated by Richard Armitage) on the wire, and after he had mentioned Plame's identity to Karl Rove.

Does it not seem extraordinary that a man can be prosecuted, and now be condemned to a long term of imprisonment, because of an alleged minor inconsistency of testimony in a case where it is admitted that there was no crime and no victim?

I know of a senior lawyer in Washington who is betting very good money that if the case is heard again on appeal, the conviction will be reversed. This is for three further reasons, which I call to your attention.

1) There is an important constitutional question regarding Fitzgerald's original jurisdiction. It is a rather nice legal question, having to do with whether, as U.S. attorney for the northern district of Illinois, Fitzgerald is a "principal" or "inferior" officer under the Appointments Clause of the U.S. Constitution. A dozen senior legal scholars have filed an amicus brief, arguing that the authority under which the original prosecutorial investigation was conducted was itself dubious. I have no expertise in this very important matter, but in granting them leave to file, Judge Walton made the following hair-raising comment, which I reproduce in full because it is longer than his order and needs to be read in full:

It is an impressive show of public service when twelve prominent and distinguished current and former law professors of well-respected schools are able to amass their collective wisdom in the course of only several days to provide their legal expertise to the Court on behalf of a criminal defendant.

The Court trusts that this is a reflection of these eminent academics' willingness in the future to step to the plate and provide like assistance in cases involving any of the numerous litigants, both in this Court and throughout the courts of our nation, who lack the financial means to fully and properly articulate the merits of their legal positions even in instances where failure to do so could result in monetary penalties, incarceration, or worse.

The Court will certainly not hesitate to call for such assistance from these luminaries, as necessary in the interests of justice and equity, whenever similar questions arise in the cases that come before it.

2) This low sarcasm displays not so much bias against the defendant, but actual animus. What does the number of days have to do with it? In how many cases involving poor defendants is an issue of constitutional law involved? Does the judge not know that Libby has already been almost ruined financially and faces incarceration? Would he have adopted the same tone if 12 experts ranging politically from Robert Bork to Alan Dershowitz had filed a brief arguing the opposite position? It's difficult to see how an appeals court can avoid these questions.

3) The judge refused to let the jury hear from a memory expert and would not admit much of the evidence about Libby's extremely heavy workload on matters of pressing national security. An amazing collection of testimonials has been prepared, from all points of the political compass, regarding particularly Libby's concern about inadequate troop levels in Iraq and his work in strengthening the country's defense against bio-warfare terrorism. It seems to some legal observers that the judge's exclusion of some of this exculpatory evidence was a payback for Libby's decision not to take the stand, which is his constitutionally protected right.

The rush to prejudge the case and pack Libby off to prison seems near universal. (Patrick Fitzgerald has denounced him for failing to show remorse; a strange charge to make against a man who has announced that he intends to appeal.) Given the unsoundness of the verdict, the extraordinary number of other witnesses who admitted to confusion over dates and times, and the essential triviality of the original matter (an apparently purposeless coverup of a nonleak, in private and legal conversations, involving common knowledge of information that was not known to be classified), it is unlikely that the verdict at present can stand scrutiny, let alone the sentence. But why go through all this irrelevant and secondhand hearsay again?

Those who want to "get" someone for "lying us into war" have picked the wrong man and failed to identify a crime. Let them try to impeach the president, who should in the meantime step in to avoid any more waste of public money and time and pardon Libby without further ado.

http://www.slate.com/id/2168642/

Political Points at Any Cost

Political Points at Any Cost
By Jeff Emanuel

If there is an illustration next to the word "gall" in the dictionary, the picture may very well be of the Congressional Democrat leadership, led (less than ably) by Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (with Reps. Nancy Pelosi and Jack Murtha close behind).

Under Reid's political-victory-at-any-cost brand of "leadership," Congressional Democrats have done everything in their power to ensure America's defeat in Iraq, while simultaneously attempting to place the blame for the loss squarely on the shoulders of a President who either is unwilling to defend himself and the military for which he serves as Commander in Chief, or is incapable of doing so.

The process began in earnest soon after the 110th Congress convened, when, on the heels of the Senate's confirmation of General David Petraeus as commander of Multinational Forces in Iraq (MNF-I), both Democrat-controlled houses attempted to ram through nonbinding resolutions condemning the "troop surge" which had been requested by Petraeus, and which was a key component of President Bush's long overdue "new strategy" in that war.

Next, again going against the wishes of America's military leaders (something which Reid and others have constantly berated the President for supposedly doing), the Democrat Congress adopted the "slow bleed" tactic, which was designed to combine a multimillion dollar anti-military, anti-war campaign with legislative action that would slowly but surely deprive the warfighters on the ground in Iraq of the materiel they needed to prosecute the war, in hopes that, once they had run so low on funding, gear, and supplies that they could no longer effectively fight, President Bush would be forced to bring them home.

This unconscionable "strategy" -- simply turning off the spigot of supplies necessary to keep our men and women in harm's way alive and functioning, in hopes of forcing a political opponent's hand -- might have actually worked, had one Representative (Pennsylvania Democrat Jack Murtha) not made the abysmally foolish (and thankfully lifesaving) decision to go public with the plan. The reaction to this horrific plan was severe enough that the "strategy" had to be dropped -- at least for the time being.

Senator Reid did not allow that minor setback to stop him though:

more...

http://www.spectator.org/dsp_article.asp?art_id=11591

More Sloppy Thinking From the Democrat Party

EditingMySpace.com,Your one stop graphic spot

From DU: Will Libby's Pardon Be Enough For You To Demand Impeachment?

Will Libby's Pardon be the straw that broke the camel's back for you? Will it be enough for you get go into the streets and demand impeachment, will it make you call your Congress person and your Senators to demand impeachment of the head of this lawless Administration?If its not what will it take for you, does the son of a bitch have to eat a live baby on TV? (ThomWV)

DUers Chime In:

--Ditto! (Impeach. Remove. Indict. Convict. Imprison. Rinse. Repeat.) We're an outlaw nation unless and until we rightfully prosecute and imprison those who've committed war crimes and crimes against our Constitution. Our nation has no honor nor courage as long as "impeachment is off the table."

-- I have been writing my congress people and senators regarding impeachment for years. I have sent several emails to Whitehouse.gov and letters to the White House asking the stupid son of a bitch to resign because he is incompetent and endangering Americans with his actions.

--Dems have not done enough to where anybody cares. It's another slam-dunk issue which has been ignored by the politicos.

--For it to be successful, both Bush and Cheney would have to be booted, so Pelosi could step in.

--The difference is that there is no Washington Post or CIA anymore to do the final takedown.

--Without formal investigations into the criminal activity of the Chimp, democracy is dead. Nothing is more important than impeachment.--I think a Libby pardon would be a tipping point. It strengthens the chance that Congress and American people will actually go ahead and pull the trigger and Impeach this mob.

--If Congress truly wants to impeach, they should be able to find many other reasons, not just the pardon.

--There's a deep misunderstanding about Impeachment. It'll wound the GOP, regardless of whether the Senate eventually votes to convict.

--Libby's CONVICTION is enough to call for impeachment. NOW.

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x1131921